Disturbing Things You Might Not Know





To my dearest family, friends, and colleagues: Within days of last week's tragedy, I began to feel a different
kind of terror in addition to what all of us Americans are already
experiencing. As fellow citizens carried our flag to demonstrate
their patriotism, I began to wonder whether or not I could walk amongst
them without being attacked. At the candle vigil last Friday, I could
feel the searching looks trying to place whether I am Hispanic, Indian
or Arabic. I felt robbed of my patriotism and mourning as I began to
understand that many Americans took President Bush's declaration of a
war against terrorism as a sanction for their own personal wars against
race and religion.


The following is a list of events that I've begun to compile from
different news and web sources. These attacks have targeted Indians,
Persians, Arabs, Muslims, Hindus, Sikhs and Christians alike. Keep in
mind that these are only the reported cases of violence, hatred, and
discrimination. There are likely to be many more of such events that
have either not been covered by news agencies or reported by the
victims themselves.


Many people have responded to these incidents by taking off their
veils and turbans, by hiding any evidence of their religious
convictions or ethnic descent, and by vowing to wait out their fellow
Americans? violent frustrations. I beg everyone who receives this
letter to immediately take a stand against the beginnings of a race
war. This is not a time for political apathy or social inertia, but
for strong protest and action. We need to support each other, our
families and our children through this crisis. And we need to demand
much more attention from the media and our politicians. I have listed
several resources to consider in beginning the fight against these
terrible injustices.


Anura Idupuganti


CRIMES & EVENTS:


1) In Mesa, Arizona, Balbir Singh Sodhi, 49, an Indian gas station
owner was shot. The assailant then drove to another service station
where a Lebanese-American employee was working; he fired shots but
injured no one else. (CNN: 9/14)


2) In Richmond Hill, Queens, an elderly Sikh man was beaten with a
baseball bat; two others were shot at with paintball guns. (NY Times)


3) In Gary, Indiana, a man in a ski mask fired more than 21 shots from
a high-powered assault rifle at Hassan Awdah, a U.S. citizen born in
Yemen, who stood behind a 1-inch-thick shield at 3 am on Wednesday.
Awdah fled as the gunman tried to shoot him again. (Reuters/Chicago &
MSNBC.com)


4) On Friday, a turban-wearing taxi driver was attacked by a man who
accused him of being a terrorist. He was of Indian descent. (Seattle
Times/Detroit Free Press)


5) A car rammed into an Akron, OH Arab-owned grocery store by Jack
Oueslati. (News Net 5: 9/16)


6) In Huntington, N.Y., a 75-year-old man tried to run over a Pakistani
woman in a shopping mall parking lot. The police said he screamed that
he was "doing this for my country." The man then followed the woman
into a store and threatened to kill her for "destroying my country."
(Seattle Times/Detroit Free Press & New York Times: 9/14)


7) Khaled Ksaibati, the faculty adviser for the Muslim Student
Association at the University of Wyoming described an attack on the
Muslim family at a Laramie Wal-Mart. "The people who screamed in her
face wanted her to go back to her country," he said. "This is her
country. She was born here." (Seattle Times/Detroit Free Press)


8) On Thursday night, a group of demonstrators gathered outside of the
Madina Masjid on First Avenue and 11th Street in Manhattan. The mob
yelled angrily and carried a banner saying "Destroy the mosque or
remove it from this place." Neighbors shouted the crowd down as the
police held them back. (News Net 5:9/16)


9) On Wednesday, a well-dressed young Manhattan couple yelled insults
at a Lebanese-American who was desperately searching for survivors from
the arts center he had run on the 92nd floor of the World Trade
Center's north tower. "They told me, 'You should go back to your
country, you f--king Arabs, we should bomb the s--t out of you," said
the man, Moukhtar Kocache. (Seattle Times)



10) Yasser Ahmed, manager of an Arab-owned candy and grocery store on
Broadway in Upper Manhattan, said about 10 people had come in shouting,
"You guys did it!" and other accusations. (NY Times)


11) One student, Basel Al-ken, whose family is from Syria, was taking
his mother to Wal-Mart one night this week. A man in a parked car
turned a laser-pointer in her face and made a throat-slitting motion
with his hand. (NY Times)


12) Four men chased Amrik Singh, a Sikh who wears a turban, on Tuesday
as he fled lower Manhattan to return home to Hicksville. He jumped on a
train to Brooklyn and took off his turban and stuffed it into his
briefcase. (NY News Day)


13) The local Sikh Temple in Richmond Hill was vandalized and received
threatening phone calls. (Masala.com)


14) A Pakistani family's house was burned down in Sacramento.
(Masala.com)


15) One man stormed into a South Seattle mosque and threatened to burn
it down. Another poured gasoline on a North Seattle mosque and tried to
fire a gun at some of its members. (Seattle Times/Detroit Free Press)


16) A 57-year-old Punjabi man was shot in Yuba City, California.
Several cars of Punjabis were vandalized as well. (Masala.com chatroom)


17) A student of either Indian or Middle Eastern origin was attacked
on the University of Pennsylvania campus. Other colleges have reported
similar stories of their students under attack. (MTV News & Seattle
Times)

18) The Islamic Institute of New York received a telephone call
threatening the school's 450 students. The male caller said he was
going to paint the streets with the children's blood. The school is
closed, but continues to receive several threats a day. (Seattle
Times/Detroit Free Press)


19) A mosque in Denton, Texas, was firebombed, and another in
Lynnwood, Wash. had its sign defaced with black paint. (New York Times:
9/14)


20) In Bridgeview, Ill., a suburb of Chicago, police stopped 300
marchers?many of them teenagers--as they tried to march on a mosque on
Wednesday night. Marcher Colin Zaremba, 19, told The Associated Press,
"I'm proud to be American and I hate Arabs and I always have." (Seattle
Times & Detroit Free Press/ Reuters: Chicago)


21) 43 percent of Americans said they thought the attacks would make
them "personally more suspicious" of people who appear to be of Arab
descent. (ABCNEWS/ Washington Post poll: 9/13)


22) 10 people were removed from an Amtrak train in Providence, R.I., on
Wednesday, and held by the police and questioned for an hour and 40.
Sher J. B. Singh, a telecommunications consultant, was one of three
Sikh men escorted from the train at gunpoint, handcuffed and questioned
about whether he had anything to do with the terrorism. The others held
all appeared to be of Arab or South Asian descent, said Mr. Singh and
Meera Kumar, a financial services officer at the Ford Motor Company,
who was also held by the police. Those detained included a Hispanic
and an African- American. "They broadcast four Arabic males, so four
Arabic males is what we are looking for," Colonel Sullivan said.
(September 14, 2001/New York Times)


23) An Indian girl was beaten to death in Long Island...Suspects are
supposedly in custody. (Masala.com chatroom)


24) From Texas to Chicago to Long Island, there have been reports of
arson, personal attacks and the police stopping men in Middle Eastern-
style head coverings. (New York Times: 9/14)


25) In suburban Cleveland, Sukhwant Singh, a Sikh priest who lives at
the Guru Gobind Sikh temple, awakened early Wednesday to find bottles
filled with gasoline hurled in the temple's windows and flames pouring
out. (New York Times: 9/14)


26) In Louisiana, schools in Jefferson Parish were closed on Wednesday
after officials reported that students of Middle Eastern origin were
being taunted and harassed. (New York Times: 9/14)


27) On Long Island, a market in Smithtown owned by a native of
Pakistan was the target of what the police considered a probable arson
attack Wednesday morning. The entire store was burned to the ground.
(New York Times: 9/14)


28) In Ronkonkoma, a man was arrested on suspicion of waving a pellet
gun and shouting obscenities at a South Asian gas station worker. (New
York Times: 9/14)


29) Early Wednesday in Manhattan, a Sikh man said he was pounced on by
three white men yelling "terrorist" at Broadway and 52nd Street. (New
York Times: 9/14)


30) On Wednesday morning, three Sikh men waiting at Grand Central
Terminal for a Connecticut-bound train were stopped and had their bags
searched by the police. (New York Times: 9/14)


31) In Denton, Texas, a Molotov cocktail fashioned out of a beer
bottle was tossed at a mosque and Islamic school, a day after windows
were shot out at a similar Islamic center near Dallas.
(Reuters/Chicago)


32) In New York?s Kennedy airport, law enforcement officers searched
passengers boarding an American Airlines flight who appeared to be of
Arab decent. "Anyone with dark skin or who spoke with an accent was
taken aside and searched," one passenger said. "And they went to any
male with too much facial hair." (NY Times & MSNBC.com)


33) An Islamic information service reported that a bag of pig blood was
left on the doorstep of an Islamic community center in San Francisco.
(Reuters/Chicago)


34) An Islamic center in Ohio received menacing messages and a bullet
was fired through one window. (Toledo Blade & Reuters/Chicago)


35) One Muslim woman said she, her husband and their eight children
endured a night of terror when an angry mob rose outside of their home
in Oak Lawn, Ill. The woman, who asked not to be identified out of
fear, said ``We had people riding up and down our block shouting
obscenities. 'Go home you bleeping ragheads, bleeping a-rabs, we're
gonna get you.??My husband and I stayed up all night guarding the
windows,'' she added. ``My husband is of Arab descent. He gave four
years of his life in the U.S. Navy ... to have some skinhead with an
American flag screaming at your house.''

She said the family was afraid to call the police because it would
single out their house, adding that other Muslim families in the
neighborhood were considering whether they should leave the area
Thursday evening. (Reuters/Chicago)


36) Police in northern Indiana were investigating several other hate
crimes. (Reuters/Chicago & MSNBC.com)


37) A Pakistani Muslim store owner was shot and killed in Dallas
Saturday evening. (MSNBC)


38) The FBI has initiated 40 hate crime investigations involving
reported attacks on Arab American citizens and institutions. (MSNBC)


39) In Palos Hills, Ill., two Muslim girls were beaten at Moraine
Valley College.

40) In Evansville, Ind., a man driving 80 miles an hour rammed his car
into a mosque. In both cases, police arrested suspects. (MSNBC)


41) Damage was reported at another Arab-owned gasoline station in
Indiana, as well as at a restaurant owned by a native of Jordan, where
windows were broken and the windows of a parked car were shot out.
(Reuters/Chicago)

42) At Jacksonville State University, tensions over the terrorist
attacks have extended beyond the Islamic students. Students from abroad
with dark complexions, including one Brazilian woman, reported hostile
looks, snide comments and fearing for their safety. (MSNBC)


43) Muslim schools in several areas have canceled their classes as a
precaution against threats and reported violence. (Reuters/Chicago)


44) In Alexandria, Virginia, Hazim Barakat, a native of Jerusalem who
came to the United States 11 years ago, said he arrived to open his
Islamic bookstore the day after the attack to find windows shattered
with note-bound bricks. ``You come to this country to kill our people.
We want to kill you'' and ``Death to the Arab murderers,'' read the
notes, according to Barakat, a U.S. citizen. (Reuters/Chicago)


45) The LAPD said 8 hate incidents have been reported in the city of
Los Angeles, including four that have been classified as hate crimes
--2 cases of vandalism; one assault with a deadly weapon, in which a
gun was put to a woman's face; and an "annoying" phone call to the
Southern California Islamic Center. Four other incidents involved
racial epithets and slurs but were not classified as hate crimes. (Los
Angeles Times)


46) Two students at Pierce College in Woodland Hills wrote "die" on a
Persian Club booth on campus. An altercation ensued between the
suspects and one or two students, but the victims did not press
charges. (Los Angeles Times)

47) At the University of Southern California, some Muslim students
have been harassed and some Muslim women have had their veils pulled
off, according to Sarah Eltantawi of the Muslim Public Affairs Council.
(Los Angeles Times)

48) Some Jewish Americans express fears of being targeted for blame
that this terrorism stems from continuing US support for Israel.
(Seattle & Detroit Free Press/ Reuters: Chicago)

49) Arab-Americans have been singled out in airports for searches by
security agents and assaulted by thugs, according to published reports.
The Internet has also become a hotbed for the harassment of
Arab-Americans. (MSNBC.com)

50) Fairfax County police are investigating two weekend bias crimes
they say may be linked to the terror attacks. (MSNBC)

51) The Windows 2000 French-language spell-checker suggests replacing
"anti-stress" with the word "anti-arab." The head of Microsoft's
European and Middle East operations said on Wednesday the problem
should be fixed in "a few weeks" and that customers would be offered a
new version free of charge. (Reuters)

BEGIN TO ACT:


1) U.S. Commission on Civil Rights has established a hotline
(1-800-552-6843) to report incidents of discrimination against Arab and
Muslim Americans in the wake of the terror attacks. Attacks against
all ethnic, racial, and religious groups can go to this number.


2) Internet: AOL, Yahoo, MSN and all Internet chat room have monitors
that intervene when discussions turn into intolerable hate speech.
Please inform monitors with immediate and continuous e-mails. Also,
respond with your convictions in chat rooms. Don?t let angry
discussions intimidate your participation in these forums. Educating
is the best response.


3) http://www.cair-net.org/ireport. This is actually a form to report
anti-Muslim hate crimes/incidents to Muslim support agencies


4) Call and e-mail news stations. Insist on further coverage of these
events and activities.


5) Start and join support groups. Reach out to children especially.


6) Write to sympathetic ears.
Senator Joseph Vitale
87 Main St.
Woodbridge, NJ 07095


Congressman Frank Pallone
420 Canon House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515


7) Contact the Department of Justice.
http://www.usdoj.gov/opa/pr/2001/September/468cr.htm


8) E-mail your government officials.


Members of the Senate :
http://www.senate.gov/contacting/index.cfm


Members of the House of Representatives
http://www.house.gov/house/MemberWWW.html


A partial list:

James Alesi 55th ALESI@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Michael Balboni 7th BALBONI@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

John J. Bonacic 40th BONACIC@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Neil Breslin 42nd BRESLIN@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Byron W. Brown 57th BBROWN@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Joseph L. Bruno 43rd BRUNO@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Martin Connor 25th CONNOR@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

John A. DeFrancisco 49th JDEFRANC@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Richard Dollinger 54th DOLLINGE@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Thomas K. Duane 27th DUANE@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Pedro Espada, Jr. 32nd ESPADA@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Hugh T. Farley 44th FARLEY@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Charles J. Fuschillo, Jr. 8th FUSCHILL@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Vincent Gentile 23rd GENTILE@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Efrain Gonzalez, Jr. 31st GONZALEZ@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Roy M. Goodman 26th GOODMAN@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Kemp Hannon 6th HANNON@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Ruth Hassell-Thompson 33rd HASSELLT@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Daniel Hevesi 13th DHEVESI@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Nancy Larraine Hoffmann 48th HOFFMANN@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Owen H. Johnson 4th OJOHNSON@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Carl Kruger 21st KRUGER@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

John R. Kuhl, Jr. 52nd KUHL@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Seymour Lachman 22nd LACHMAN@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

James J. Lack 2nd LACK@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

William J. Larkin, Jr. 39th LARKIN@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Kenneth P. LaValle 1st LAVALLE@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Vincent L. Leibell 37th LEIBELL@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Serphin R. Maltese 15th MALTESE@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Carl Marcellino 5th MARCELLI@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

John J. Marchi 24th MARCHI@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Marty Markowitz 20th MARKOWIT@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

George Maziarz 61st MAZIARZ@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Patricia K. McGee 56th MCGEE@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Raymond A. Meier 47th MEIER@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Olga A. Mendez 28th MENDEZ@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Velmanette Montgomery 18th MONTGOME@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Thomas P. Morahan 38th MORAHAN@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Michael Nozzolio 53rd NOZZOLIO@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

George Onorato 14th ONORATO@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Suzi Oppenheimer 36th OPPENHEI@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Frank Padavan 11th PADAVAN@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

David Paterson 29th PATERSON@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Mary Lou Rath 60th RATH@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Stephen M. Saland 41st SALAND@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

John L. Sampson 19th SAMPSON@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Nellie Santiago 17th SANTIAGO@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Eric T. Schneiderman 30th SCHNEIDE@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

James Seward 50th SEWARD@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Dean Skelos 9th SKELOS@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Ada L. Smith 12th SMITH@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Malcolm A. Smith 10th MASMITH@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Nicholas A. Spano 35th SPANO@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

William J. Stachowski 58th STACHOWS@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Ronald B. Stafford 45th STAFFORD@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Toby A. Stavisky 16th STAVISKY@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Caesar Trunzo 3rd TRUNZO@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Guy J. Velella 34th VELELLA@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

Dale M. Volker 59th VOLKER@SENATE.STATE.NY.US

James W. Wright 46th WRIGHT@SENATE.STATE.NY.US


Source: Anura Idupuganti(anura3535@yahoo.com)

Posted:
Disturbing Things You Might Not Know