Sarah Shannon: "I'm Not A Velocity Girl, Not Yet A Velocity Woman"





Sarah Shannon, the charming voice which once lead Velocity Girl to a commendable stay in the indie rock community, is back on wax with her new solo album. The record will be released on the label which the singer co-owns, CASA. The press release from Hyper failed to mention an album name or release date so your guess is as good as mine. Shannon will however be on tour for the month of March alongside Seldom, a band who tagged along with Pedro the Lion on their last stint of US dates. The tour kicks off in San Francisco on February 28. I had the honor of delivering the stage announcement for the final Velocity Girl show during their "Gilded Stars" tour at WPBZ's Buzz Bake Sale in 1997. It was an amazing farewell show and let's hope that Shannon's debut album lasts longer than the rare Starry Eyes EP (her first post VG project).


Sarah Shannon
(w/ Seldom)


Thu, Feb 28 San Francisco, CA


Fri, Mar 1 Los Angeles, CA


Sat, Mar 2 Anaheim, CA


Sun, Mar 3 San Diego, CA


Mon, Mar 4 Phoenix, AZ


Wed, Mar 6 Austin, TX


Thu, Mar 7 Dallas, TX


Fri, Mar 8 Houston, TX


Sat, Mar 9 New Orleans, LA


Sun, Mar 10 Tallahassee, FL


Mon, Mar 11 Orlando, FL


Wed, Mar 13 Atlanta, GA


Thu, Mar 14 Carrboro, NC


Fri, Mar 15 Washington, DC


Sat, Mar 16 Philadelphia, PA


Sun, Mar 17 New York, NY


Mon, Mar 18 Cambridge, MA


Wed, Mar 20 Pittsburgh, PA


Thu, Mar 21 Cleveland, OH


Fri, Mar 22 Detroit, MI


Sat, Mar 23 Chicago, IL


Sun, Mar 24 Minneapolis, MN


Tue, Mar 26 Denver, CO


Wed, Mar 27 Salt Lake City, UT


Thu, Mar 28 Boise, ID


Fri, Mar 29 Portland, OR


Sat, Mar 30 Seattle, WA



Source: Jason Anfinsen

Posted:
Sarah Shannon: "I'm Not A Velocity Girl, Not Yet A Velocity Woman"