New Jay Farrar EP on the Way

Uncle Tupelo co-founder turned Son Volt frontman turned solo artist, Jay Farrar, will release a 5-track EP on August 13. The EP, entitled ThirdShiftGrottoSlack, will include four songs recorded during the sessions for Farrarís solo debut Sebastopol, and a reworking of "Damn Shame," which was also included on the 2001 release. According to Rolling Stone, the Sebastopol sessions were Farrarís first without the aid of Son Volt, with whom he recorded 1995ís Trace, 1997ís Straightaways, and 1998ís Wide Swing Tremolo. To fill the void, the star recruited keyboardist Steve Drozd (Flaming Lips), bassist Tom Ray (Bottle Rockets), and drummer Jon Wurster (Superchunk) to back him on the album. The re-mix of "Damn Shame" was done with the help of Beck/R.L. Burnside producer Tom Rothrock. As for the future of Son Volt, Farrar says that there are "no immediate plans" to record with the band.

ThirdShiftGrottoSlack Track listing:

"Greenwich Time"

"Damn Shame" (Memphis Mix)

"Station to Station"

"Kind of Madness"


New Jay Farrar EP on the Way