Rollins Creates Rise Above, A New West Memphis Three Comp.

The three incarcerated-yet-innocent victims known as the West Memphis Three continue to rot in a jail cell for a crime that they did not commit. The three (who were teenagers when convicted of a triple murder in 1993) have an army of supporters who are fighting to get the men out of jail everyday. Musicians are some of those supporters, like Eddie Vedder, and others, such as Eddie Spaghetti have released various artist compilations in order to raise money for the defense of these innocent people, whose story and lives were aired on the popular HBO documentary Paradise Lost 1 & 2 (which were both scored by Metallica).

Henry "Hank" Rollins has created a new music compilation to help the WM3 called Rise Above, which features 24 tracks originally written by Black Flag, the legendary California punk band that Rollins was once in. The astounding list of artists that want to help get end the men's suffering is vast and includes Iggy Pop, Tim Armstrong and Lars Frederiksen of Rancid, Ryan Adams, Chuck D, Mike Patton, Ice-T, Slipknot's Corey Taylor, Nick Oliveri of Queens Of The Stone Age, Cedric Bixler Zavala of The Mars Volta, original Black Flag vocalist Keith Morris and many more TRUE STARS of rock 'n' roll.

Rollins spoke about his reason for assembling this important benefit disc. "I became aware of the case like many people, from watching the Paradise Lost documentaries that HBO released. The first one shocked me and made me upset. The second one made me mad," Rollins explained. "Damien, Jessie, and Jason were found guilty of murdering three boys and sent to prison. I didn't agree with the verdict. I figured that to do nothing about that would be to align myself with the forces of injustice that got them pulled into this horrible situation."

Sanctuary Records will release Rise Above on October 8. For more information on what you can do to help free these innocent people, please check out their site

Here is the track listing for Rise Above:

"Rise Above" (featuring Chuck D, Henry Rollins)

"Nervous Breakdown" (featuring Keith Morris)

"Fix Me" (featuring Iggy Pop)

"American Waste" (featuring Neil Fallon of Clutch)

"I've Had It" (featuring Cedric Bixler Zavala of The Mars Volta)

"I've Heard It Before" (featuring Jeff Moreira of Poison The Well)

"Room 13" (featuring Corey Taylor of Slipknot)

"Wasted" (featuring Exene Cervenka)

"Jealous Again" (featuring Nick Oliveri of Queens Of The Stone Age)

"TV Party" (featuring Henry Rollins)

"No Values" (featuring Hank Williams III)

"Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie" (featuring Dean Ween of Ween)

"Depression" (featuring Casey Chaos of Amen)

"Six Pack" (featuring Mike Patton)

"Police Story" (featuring Ice-T)

"Revenge" (featuring Tom Araya of Slayer)

"Thirsty & Miserable" (featuring Lemmy Kilmister of Motorhead)

"What I See" (featuring Chuck Dukowski)

"No More" (featuring Tim Armstrong and Lars Frederiksen of Rancid)

"Black Coffee" (featuring Henry Rollins)

"Slip It In" (featuring Henry Rollins, Inger Lorre)

"Annihilate This Week" (featuring Henry Rollins, Kira Roessler)

"My War" (featuring Henry Rollins)

"Nervous Breakdown" (featuring Ryan Adams, live at the Fillmore)

Source: Jason Anfinsen

Rollins Creates Rise Above, A New West Memphis Three Comp.