Johnny Cash Readies Fourth Rick Rubin-Produced Release

The original Man in Black, Johnny Cash, will unveil his fourth American Recordings album, entitled American IV: The Man Comes Around, on November 5. Nick Cave, Fiona Apple, Don Henley, and the Chili Peppers' John Frusciante all make guest appearances on the album. Along with the number of special guests, American IV, will feature a number of cover songs, including Simon & Garfunkel's "Bridge Over Troubled Water," Sting's "I Hung My Head," The Beatles' "In My Life," The Eagles' "Desperado," and Depeche Mode's "Personal Jesus" to name a few. According to Billboard, it's unlikely that Cash will be taking to the road in support of this release, as he suffers from diabetic neuropathy - a disease of the nervous system that leaves its victims very susceptible to pneumonia. Lou Robin, Cash's long-time manager, has said that the aging star is feeling very well at the moment and has already begun recording his next album.

This year marks Johnny Cash's 70th birthday, and to celebrate, a ton of Cash related releases have flooded the market as of late. Columbia/Legacy released The Essential Johnny Cash, a two-disc best of album, earlier this year, as well as five album reissues. The label plans to drop another batch of Cash reissues on August 27 along with a previously unreleased live album recorded at Madison Square Garden in December of 1969. Dualtone has just issued a Cash tribute album and Lucky Dog/Sony is releasing another on September 24. BMG also recently released a two-disc Sun Records collection that includes a number of early Cash hits. Check out American IV's track listing below.

American IV: The Man Comes Around

"The Man Comes Around" (Cash)

"Hurt" (Nine Inch Nails)

"Give My Love to Rose" (Cash)

"Bridge Over Troubled Water" (Simon & Garfunkel)

"I Hung My Head" (Sting)

"The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face" (Ewan MacColl)

"Personal Jesus" (Depeche Mode)

"In My Life" (The Beatles)

"Sam Hall" (traditional)

"Danny Boy" (traditional)

"Desperado" (the Eagles)

"I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry" (Hank Williams)

"The Streets of Laredo" (traditional)

"Tear Stained Letter" (Cash)

"We'll Meet Again" (Ink Spots)

Johnny Cash Readies Fourth Rick Rubin-Produced Release