Shortlist Nominees Announced and the List Ain't That Short

The nominees for the second annual Stateside version of the Shortlist Prize for Artistic Achievement have been announced. The list, currently including a total of 75 albums, was chosen by an all-star panel made up of Beck, Iggy Pop, Mos Def, Paul Oakenfold, and Spike Jonze just to name a few. Each of the panel's members nominated 5 albums to create the lengthy list of nominees and now, each listmaker will choose his/her top 10 faves. The leading vote-getters will become the Shortlist finalists.

With such an eclectic group of people on the panel, it is no surprise that the nominees come from every genre of popular music, including dance, rock, hip-hop, R&B, etc. Some of the names include The Cato Salsa Experience (A Good Tip for A Good Time), Aphex Twin (Drukqs), Zero 7 (Simple Things), and the only artist to make the list two years running, Ryan Adams (Gold). Adams was also nominated last year for his Bloodshot debut Heartbreaker. According to Billboard, each of the albums selected had to be released in the US between July 2001 and August 2002 and have sold fewer than 500,000 copies. Look below for the long ass list of Shortlist nominees.

Shortlist Music Prize's Long List:

Aesop Rock - Labor Days (Definitive Jux)

...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead - Source Tags & Codes (Interscope)

Andrew W.K. - I Get Wet (Island)

Anti-Pop Consortium - Arrythmia (Warp)

Aphex Twin - Drukqs (Warp/Sire)

Belle & Sebastian - Storytelling (Matador)

Beth Orton - Daybreaker (Astralwerks)

Bjork - Vespertine (Elektra)

Blackalicious - Blazing Arrow (MCA)

Built To Spill - Ancient Melodies of the Future (Warner Bros.)

Cato Salsa Experience - A Good Tip For A Good Time (Emperor Norton)

Cee-Lo - Cee-Lo Green and His Perfect Imperfections (Arista)

Clinic - Walking With Thee (Domino)

Dan Bern - New American Language (Messenger)

Death By Chocolate - Zap the World (Jetset)

DJ Krush - Zen (Red Ink)

DJ Quik - Under Tha Influence (Ark 21)

DJ Shadow - The Private Press (MCA)

Doves - The Last Broadcast (Capitol)

Drive-By Truckers - Southern Rock Opera (Lost Highway)

El-P - Fantastic Damage (Definitive Jux)

El-P & Cannibal Ox - El-P Presents Cannibal Ox Oxstrumentals (Definitive Jux)

Erase Errata - Other Animals (Troubleman Unlimited)

Felix Da Housecat - Kittenz and Thee Glitz (Emperor Norton)

Flaming Lips - Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots (Warner Bros.)

Guided By Voices - Universal Truths and Cycles (Matador)

Herbaliser - Something Wicked This Way Comes (Ninja Tune)

Injected - Burn It Black (Island)

Jaguar Wright - Denials, Delusions, and Decisions (MCA)

Jazzanova - In Between (Ropeadope)

JJ72 - JJ72 (Columbia)

J-Live - All of the Above (Coup D'Etat)

Joi - Star Kitty's Revenge (Universal)

Julia Fordham - Concrete Love (Atlantic)

Kinky - Kinky (Nettwerk)

Kronos Quartet - Nuevo (Elektra/Asylum)

Laurie Anderson - Life on a String (Atlantic)

Le Tigre - Feminist Sweepstakes (Mr. Lady)

Ledisi - Feeling Orange Sometimes Blue: The Jazz Singer Limited Edition (Lesun Music)

Mary Timony - The Golden Dove (Matador)

Masta Ace - Disposable Arts (JCOR)

MeShell Ndegeocello - Cookie: The Anthropological Mix Tape (Maverick)

the Moldy Peaches - The Moldy Peaches (Rough Trade)

N.E.R.D. - In Search Of... (Virgin)

N'Dambi - Tunin' Up and Cosignin' (Cheeky I)

Orishas - "Emigrante" (Surco)

Patty Griffin - 1,000 Kisses (ATO)

Princess Superstar - Princess Superstar Is (K7/Rapster)

Quix*o*tic - Mortal Mirror (Kill Rock Stars)

Radar Brothers - And the Surrounding Mountains (Merge)

Raphael Saadiq - Instant Vintage (Universal)

Remy Shand - The Way I Feel (Universal)

RJD2 - Dead Ringer (Definitive Jux)

Ryan Adams - Gold (Lost Highway)

Sonic Youth - Murray Street (DGC/Geffen)

Sparklehorse - It's a Wonderful Life (Capitol)

Stereo Total - Musique Automatique (Bobsled)

Super Furry Animals - Rings Around the World (XL/Beggars Group)

Telepopmusik - Genetic World (Capitol)

the Avalanches - Since I Left You (Elektra)

Eels - Souljacker (DreamWorks)

the Faint - Danse Macabre (Saddle Creek)

the Hives - Veni Vidi Vicious (Burning Heart/Epitaph/Warner Bros.)

the Scooters - I Can See Your House From Here (Aeronaut)

the Vines - Highly Evolved (Capitol)

Timo Maas - Loud (Kinetic)

Tom Waits - Blood Money (Anti)

Tomahawk - Tomahawk (Ipecac)

Twinemen - Twinemen (High N Dry)

Ugly Casanova - Sharpen Your Teeth (Sub Pop)

Wilco - Yankee Hotel Foxtrot (Nonesuch)

Will.I.Am - Lost Change (Beat Generation)

X-ecutioners - Built From Scratch (Loud)

Zero 7 - Simple Things (Palm Pictures)

Shortlist Nominees Announced and the List Ain't That Short