New Grandaddy Album Expected Before Summer

Modesto, California's Grandaddy have revealed that their fourth album, tentatively titled Sumday, is nearly complete. Speaking to Pitchfork, Grandaddy main-man Jason Lytle said that recording is finished, mixing is almost done, and a spring release date is being targeted. Although it hasn't been nailed down, Lytle is "pretty sure" that the release will be a two-disc set. The follow-up to the band's critically acclaimed 2000 album The Sophtware Slump was recorded completely in Lytle's home studio, where he also played the role of producer with his long-time friend Lucky Lew.

As previously reported, Grandaddy has started their own label, Sweat Of The Alps, and will be releasing a pair of albums shortly. The first will be from now-disbanded band Arm Of Roger, with another from Built Like Alaska coming shortly thereafter.

Sumday Track List (as reported by Pitchfork):

Disc One:

01. "Now It's On"

02. "I'm on Standby"

03. "The Go in the Go-For-It"

04. "The Group Who Couldn't Say"

05. "Lost on Yer Merry Way"

06. "El Caminos in the West"

07. "Stray Dog and the Chocolate Shake"

Disc Two:

01. "Yeah Is What We Had"

02. "O.K. with My Decay"

03. "The Saddest Vacant Lot in All the World"

04. "The Warming Sun"

05. "Fare Thee Not Well Mutineer"

06. "The Final Push to the Sum..."

New Grandaddy Album Expected Before Summer