• All genres
    • Electronic
    • R&B
    • Hip-Hop
    • Rock

Sweet, Mullins, Droge Join Forces To Form The Thorns

A new pop supergroup has been formed by Matthew Sweet, Shawn Mullins, and Pete Droge. The trio has dubbed their new project The Thorns, and the band is currently gearing up for the May 20 release of its self-titled Aware/Columbia debut. The day of the release, The Thorns will appear on The Tonight Show With Jay Leno and will kick off the first of two back-to-back shows at Hollywood's Troubadour. The trio will also be appearing on May 23 on The Late Late Show With Craig Kilborn. The Thorns was produced by Brendan O'Brien, who has previously worked with all three members of the trio individually, as well as the likes of The Black Crowes, Pearl Jam, and Rage Against The Machine.

The Thorns are already savvy TV veterans. Billboard reports that the group performed the Beach Boys' "Warmth Of The Sun" as a trio of street singers on last Sunday's episode of NBC's American Dreams. They've also had a few of their original songs air on American Dreams and Smallville on the WB.

Sweet, Mullins, Droge Join Forces To Form The Thorns