Coldplay, Streets, David Gray Take Home Ivor Novello Awards

Chalk another one up for Coldplay. The London quartet's excellent songsmithery was proven last night at the 48th Annual Ivor Novello Awards in their hometown. A Rush Of Blood To The Head won the boys the Songwriter Of The Year award. Butg all the spoils were not theirs, as "Weak Become Heroes" by Mike Skinner of The Streets won the award for Best Contemporary Song and David Gray took the honors for Best Song Of The Year with "The Other Side." The Ivors, as they are called, are given out each year by the British Academy Of Composers and Songwriters, and past winners have included U2, Ash, Travis and Dido. Look below for more of this year's winners.

2003 Ivor Novello Award Winners with performer and (songwriter):

Best Song Musically & Lyrically

ìThe Other Sideî - David Gray (David Gray)

Best Contemporary Song

ìWeak Become Heroesî - The Streets (Michael Skinner)

PRS Most Performed Work

ìJust A Littleî - Liberty X (Michelle Escoffery/John Hammond Hagan/George Hammond Hagan)

Best UK Selling Single

ìAnything Is Possibleî - Will Young (Cathy Dennis/Chris Braide)

International Hit Of The Year

ìComplicatedî - Avril Lavigne (Lauren Christy/David Alspach/Graham Edwards/Avril Lavigne)

The Ivors Dance Award

ìLazyî - X-Press 2 (Ashley Beedle/Darren House/Darren Rock/David Byrne)

Best Original Film Score

ìThe Quiet Americanî - Craig Armstrong

Songwriters Of The Year

Coldplay (Guy Berryman, Jonathon Buckland, William Champion, Christopher Martin)

International Achievement

UB40 (Astro, Ali Campbell, Brian Travers, Earl Falconer, Norman Hassan, Michael Virtue, James Brown, Robin Campbell)

PRS Outstanding Contribution To British Music

Bryan Ferry

Outstanding Song Collection

U2 (Bono, The Edge, Larry Mullen, Adam Clayton)

The Special International Award

Brian Wilson

Coldplay, Streets, David Gray Take Home Ivor Novello Awards