Radiohead, Coldplay, The Darkness Head Mercury Music Prize List

Is it that time already? Evidently, it is, as the 2003 Panasonic Mercury Music Prize Nominations were announced today. The Mercury Prize awards the best in UK releases of the past year across the genres of rock, dance, pop, contemporary classical, jazz and folk. Past winners have included 2002ís Ms. Dynamite, 2000ís Badly Drawn Boy, 1995ís Portishead, 1993ís Suede, and 1992ís Primal Scream. This year, the dual favorites at the bookies are Radiohead for Hail To The Thief and A Rush Of Blood To The Head by Coldplay. Other acts up for the prestigious award are ë80s-influnced rockers The Darkness, Irish West Coast Pop revivalists The Thrills, summery South Londoners Athlete and ex-Tricky muse Martina Topley Bird. The awards will be held September 9 in London. Check below for the full list of those nominated.

2003 Panasonic Mercury Music Prize nominees:

Radiohead – Hail To The Thief
Dizzee Rascal – Boy In Da Corner
The Thrills – So Much For The City
Soweto Kinch – Conversations With The Unseen
Floetry – Floetic
The Darkness – Permission To Land
Coldplay – A Rush Of Blood To The Head
Martina Topley-Bird – Quixotic
Eliza Carthy – Anglicana
Athlete – Vehicles And Animals
Terri Walker – Untitled
Lemon Jelly – Lost Horizons

POSTED July 22, 2003 12:00AM IN THE TRIPWIRE




Comments are closed.