John Frusciante Preps The Release Of Six New Albums

Red Hot Chili Peppers axe man John Frusciante is planning the release of six new albums over the course of a few months. On a six-month hiatus from his band, Frusciante is using his time to experiment in the studio, even recording an album with Josh Klinghoffer (Thelonious Monster) and bassist Joe Lally (Fugazi) under the name Ataxia. "All the rest of the albums are pretty concise songs, but that one is more stretched out," Frusciante told Rolling Stone. "It's got lots of guitar solos and it's more of a sound of three people in room creating together. I've never done such out-of-control guitar playing on a record before. There's photographs of us in the studio and I look like I'm about ready to jump out of my skin."

Most of these albums were made in less than ten days, taking the approach of musicians from rock's golden era where the release of multiple albums per year was the norm. Part of what led to this was the guitarist's realization that imperfections in a recording, if placed properly, can add to the overall appeal of an album. On his previous effort, Frusciante made every effort to make the recording technically perfect, but when he listened to some of his favorite old songs, including the Rolling Stones' "Time Is On My Side," he had a bit of an epiphany.

"Brian Jones is playing a tambourine in that song that's totally out of time," he says. "At the time I was recording Shadows Collide With People, there would be no way in hell that I'd let a tambourine like that go by. I still might not let one go by that sounds that bad, but I use stuff like that as a reference point to remember, 'If they got away with that then I can definitely get away with this.' I started to realize that the right amount of imperfections, when they're spaced evenly across a record, can be really beautiful."

The first of Frusciante's six albums in six month releases hit the streets last week through Record Collection in the form of Will To Death.

John Frusciante Preps The Release Of Six New Albums