SpongeBob Soundtrack Boasts Shins, Wilco, And Flaming Lips Songs

The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie will be in theaters on November 19, but before it hits the big screen, fans will be able to purchase the film's soundtrack. Why, you ask, should you give a shit? Well, the SpongBob soundtrack, out November 9, is a literal who's who of indie rock excellence. The set features contributions from Wilco, The Shins, Ween, one half of the Dust Brothers, Electrocute, Motörhead and more. Even The Flaming Lips got in on the action, as their "SpongeBob And Patrick Confront The Psychic Wall Of Energy" will be the album's lead single.

"I actually suggested that maybe I could try to get Justin Timberlake to do a duet with us, as an off-the-cuff idea," Flaming Lips frontman Wayne Coyne told MTV News. "But [Nickelodeon series creator Stephen Hillenburg] said, 'I don't want any of those sort of commercial weirdos on there. I don't like those commercial people. I like you guys, and Wilco and Ween.' "

One commercial weirdo did make the cut however, as Maxim cover girl (did anyone else think that was weird) Avril Lavigne's "SpongeBob SquarePants Theme" is included as well.

The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie soundtrack track listing (not sequenced):

Avril Lavigne - "SpongeBob SquarePants Theme"
Flaming Lips - "SpongeBob and Patrick Confront the Psychic Wall of Energy"
Wilco - "Just a Kid"
Mike Simpson - "The Goofy Goober Song"
Electrocute - "Bikini Bottom"
SpongeBob SquarePants - "It's the Best Day Ever"
The Shins - "They Will Soon Discover"
Ween - "Ocean Man"
Tom Rothrock featuring Jim Wise - "Goofy Goober Rock"
Motörhead - "You Better Swim"
Prince Paul featuring Wordsworth - "Prince Paul's Bubble Party"
Patrick - "Under My Rock"
The cast of the film - "Now That We're Men"
Plus Tech Squeezebox - "The Jellyfish Song by the Jellyfish Band"
The Pirates - "The Spongebob SquarePants Theme"

SpongeBob Soundtrack Boasts Shins, Wilco, And Flaming Lips Songs