Super Furry Animals Next In Under The Influence Series

The Under The Influence mix compilations are a great idea. It's where an artist, previous UTI releases were headed up by Morrissey, Ian Brown, Bob Geldof and Paul Weller, gets to pick songs from other bands that were influential in their careers. Not to cover them, just the original songs, as is. Now you can add the Super Furry Animals as the latest band to compile a mix CD. Set for release in January '05, the Welsh five-piece divided the track gathering among its' members with each man picking three songs. Democracy is alive and well, in Wales.

What's great about the Under The Influence series is that you get an insight into what the band and band members are like. Civically-minded SFA frontman Gruff picks three of his favorite Welsh acts including the "Ghost Town" by Meic Stevens, guitarist Bunf opts for some Beach Boys and Undertones and bassist Guto picks Dawn Penn and The MC5. Who would be on your Under The Influence mix?

The SFA tracklisting is as follows:

01. The Beach Boys - "Feel Flows" (Chosen by Bunf)
02. Datblygu - "Casserole Effeillaid" (Gruff)
03. The Undertones - "My Perfect Cousin" (Bunf)
04. The MC5 - "Kick Out The Jams" (Guto)
05. Gorky's Zygotic Mynci - "Christina" (Gruff)
06. Sly & The Family Stone - "Family Affair" (Daf)
07. Humanoid - "Stakker Humanoid" (Cian)
08. Underworld - "Rez" (Daf)
09. Bizet - "Pearl Fishers" (Cian)
10. ELO - "Telephone Line" (Daf)
11. Dennis Wilson and Rumbo - "Lady" (Guto)
12. Meic Stevens - "Ghost Town" (Gruff)
13. Dawn Penn - "You Don't Love Me (No No No)" (Guto)
14. Joey Beltram - "Energy Flash" (Cian)
15. Hardfloor - "Acperience" (Bunf)

Super Furry Animals Next In Under The Influence Series