Spoon's Gimme Fiction Out In May

When I woke up this morning, I felt an urge to lookup the latest news from a few of my personal favorite Texas bands. Perhaps this is just my brain reminding me that SXSW is almost here. The first search I pulled up was for Spoon, and wouldn’t ya know, they have posted the tracklisting for their new album. This will be Spoon’s fifth full-length album, titled Gimme Fiction, which will be released on May 10. According to their official website, the album was co-produced by Mike McCarthy in Austin at Jim’s Public HiFi studio. The songs are about “long distance relationships, the apocalyptic bent of certain American Southerners, neckrugs, emotional shutdowns, Ralph Reed Jr., a musical called The Stranger Dance, and Marquette, Michigan.” The tracklisting is as follows:

01. “The Beast and Dragon, Adored”
02. “The Two Sides of Monsieur Valentine”
03. “I Turn My Camera On”
04. “My Mathematical Mind”
05. “The Delicate Place”
06. “Sister Jack”
07. “I Summon You”
08. “The Infinite Pet”
09. “Was It You?”
10. “They Never Got You”
11. “Merchants of Soul”

Spoon's Gimme Fiction Out In May