TV On The Radio Grabs Album Of The Year At Plug Awards

Last night the Plug Awards were held in New York City’s Webster Hall. As previously reported, the Plug Awards began in 2001 and are about celebrating the independent music community and coming together to recognize their own. At the same time there were performances by Saul Williams, Ted Leo + Pharmacists, RJD2, Dillinger Escape Plan, and Sufijan Stevens.

According to Billboard, nominations were chosen by a board known as the "Plug Cartel," including Warp Records founder Steve Beckett, journalist Greg Kot, comedian David Cross, Rough Trade founder Geoff Travis, producer T Bone Burnett, Stones Throw founder Peanut Butter Wolf and Goldenvoice president Paul Tollett, among others. Aproximatly 10,000 people were belived to vote in this year’s awards.

Highlights of the top winners include:

Album of the Year
TV On The Radio Desperate Youth, Bloodthirsty Babes Touch & Go

Artist of the Year

New Artist of the Year
The Arcade Fire

Female Artist of the Year
Jean Grae

Male Artist of the Year
Tom Waits

Internet Station

TV On The Radio Grabs Album Of The Year At Plug Awards