Mojo Announces Award Nominees

Whoopty Doo! Another British music magazine has just announced the nominees for their annual awards ceremony. This time it is for the second annual Mojo Honours List, which takes place on June 16 at a presentation at the Porchester Hall in London. Although the world didn’t need yet another award show, this particular one does have some noteworthy categories and nominees.

So what is the Mojo Honours List all about? In speaking with XFM, Mojo editor-in-chief Phil Alexander explained: “While other awards celebrate the biggest names and the best releases of the preceding year, we believe there's long been a need to properly honour the extraordinary talents of the artists, bands and songwriters whose careers have been responsible for enhancing our rich musical culture.”

Some of the highlights include the Icon Award, for which nominees include David Bowie, John Lydon and The Ramones.

And the nominees are….

Icon Award
David Bowie
John Lydon
Siouxsie Sioux
Marc Bolan
The Ramones

Best New Band Award
Antony And The Johnsons
Ray Lamontagne
Rufus Wainwright
Arcade Fire
Willy Mason
The Magic Numbers

Inspiration Award
Gang Of Four
Tom Waits
Neil Young

Songwriter Award
Paul Weller
Brian Wilson
Damien Rice
Van Morrison
Kate Bush

DVD Vision Award
AC/DC Family Jewels
Elvis Presley 68 Comeback Special
Live Aid
Martin Scorsese Presents The Blues
Marc Bolan & T Rex Born To Boogie
The Rolling Stone Rock And Roll Circus

Catalog Award
The Mamas & Papas Complete Anthology
The Clash London Calling 25th Anniversary Edition
Jeff Buckley Grace 10th Anniversary Edition
The Kinks Are The Village Green Preservation Society
Jack Nitzsche Story 1962-1979 – Hearing Is Believing
The Fall The Complete Peel Sessions 1978-2004

Mojo Announces Award Nominees