Carl Barat To Release Mix CD

It has been a few weeks since any ex-members of the Libertines have made any quality news headlines. Breaking the silence is Carl Barat, who is set to release a compilation as part of the Under The Influence collection. Barat is the latest to be featured on this series, which has also featured compilations by Morrissey, Ian Brown and Paul Weller. His picks range from The Mamas And The Papas to Supergrass.

He wrote a few thoughts in the liner notes, on which he said: “Growing up at the time and in the way I did, there can be no continuity or order in the music that fed me… So, in summary, make mine a pint and I’ll see you by the pool with a book of poetry and an acoustic.”

Does anybody else find it amusing that he picked Moldy Peaches’ “Who’s Got The Crack”? Is this a jab at a certain former bandmate? Hmmm.

Under The Influence
01. The Mamas And The Papas – “Dream A Little Dream”
02. David Bowie – “Oh You Pretty Things”
03. Bob Dylan – “Hurricane”
04. The Small Faces – “The Universal”
05. The La’s – “Son Of A Gun”
06. Supergrass – “Sitting Up Straight”
07. New York Dolls – “Personality Crisis”
08. The Clash – “Remote Control”
09. The Jam – “Eton Rifles”
10. The Stranglers – “No More Heroes”
11. The Specials – “Too Much Too Young”
12. The Smiths – “Bigmouth Strikes Again”
13. Moldy Peaches – “Who’s Got The Crack”
14. Pulp – “Sorted For E’s And Wizz”
15. The Streets – “Fit But You Know It”

Carl Barat To Release Mix CD