New Frank Black Solo Album Promises More Up-Tempo Rock Tracks

Earlier this year, Pixies' frontman Frank Black released the critically-acclaimed solo album, Honeycomb. Recorded in Nashville with some of the Music City's best (even legendary) session players, the album's 14 subdued, laid back tracks were a treat not only for their musical perfection, but for the intimate look it gave fans into the life of the songwriter.

It seems that Black had such a good time recording Honeycomb that he decided to return to Nashville to record a follow-up. In sessions that began last October and continued most recently last month while he was in Nashville for the Americana Awards, Black rejoined some of the legendary players he recruited for Honeycomb, as well as a few fresh faces. Steve Cropper, Reggie Young, Spooner Oldham, Anton Fig, Chester Thompson, and David Hood all made repeat appearances for Black and were joined this time around by Levon Helm, Al Kooper, Ian McLagan, Cheap Trick's Tom Peterson, Simon Kirke from Bad Company, Lyle Workman, Marty Brown and Jack Clement. Not a bad group, eh?

Honeycomb producer Jon Tiven is also back onboard for the as-yet-untitled new release and has revealed some inside info on the new songs. "The new tunes are much different in many ways than those on Honeycomb," Tiven said. "Honeycomb was subdued, almost mellow, whereas more up tempo, rock tracks were recorded this time." Additionally, Black camp has revealed that while lyrically, the Honeycomb material dealt with recent issues in Black's life, the new material explores more of Black's distant past.

A release date is not yet set for the new album, but it should be finished and available next year.

New Frank Black Solo Album Promises More Up-Tempo Rock Tracks