The Strokes Make Good First Impression With Third Album

New York's rock & roll darlings The Strokes will release their third album, First Impressions Of Earth, on January 3. Their third effort for RCA, the album was recorded in the band's NYC rehearsal studio with only minimal assistance from long-time producer Gordon Raphael. The majority of the release was produced by veteran David Kahne (Fishbone, 311, Wilco, Sublime) and the result is a whole new sound for The Strokes, as anyone who has heard the Spy Hunter-esque intro of first single "Juicebox" can attest to. A full US tour is planned in support of First Impressions Of Earth for early 2006. Until then, the only confirmed Strokes shows come as part of a festival tour of South America October 21-29, though a few one-off club dates in Europe, the UK, Japan, Australia and North America before the end of the year are currently "in discussion", according to a spokesperson for the band.

An unsequenced track listing has been announced as well. Check it out below. And for the record, I can't wait to hear these tunes. If they are all as dynamic and different (and good) as "Juicebox", the band deserves some major kudos.

Track Listing (Unsequenced):

"You Only Live Once"
"Heart In A Cage"
"Razor Blade"
"On The Other Side"
"Killing Lies"
"Fear Of Sleep"
"15 Minutes"
"Vision Of Division"
"Red Light"
"Evening Sun"
"The Ize Of The World"
"Ask Me Anything"

The Strokes Make Good First Impression With Third Album