Vote In The 2006 PLUG Independent Music Awards

The nominees for the 3rd annual PLUG Independent Music Awards have been announced for their 2006 show. Their advisory board, known as the PLUG Cartel has grown substantially over the past few years, from 50 in 2004 to 200 in 2005. They consist of musically minded celebs such as David Cross and Jason Lee, as well as devoted indie retailers, writers, artists, filmmakers, music supervisors, bloggers, etc. You can see the complete list of the PLUG Cartel by clicking here.

The fine folks at PLUG have given us the list of nominees, as well as a link to the official ballot. Now the rest is up to you. Click here to vote for your favorites, which you can do until the ballots close on January 20. Categories include Album Of The Year, Artist Of The Year, New Artist Of The Year, Song Of The Year, College Station Of The Year and even Specialty Show Of The Year. Bands making the ballot range from Bloc Party to Black Mountain and everything in between.

“Indie music is enjoying a growth period unseen in decades, and the PLUG Independent Music Awards are fast becoming the most respected call-to-action for this part of the music industry and the indie community as a whole,” said Amaechi Uzoigwe, co-owner of Definitive Jux. “The aim of PLUG is to not only recognize artists, but to throw this entire segment of the industry into the spotlight, and give fans everywhere a unique opportunity to get connected, get involved and be heard.”

The awards ceremony will take place at NYC’s Webster Hall on February 2, 2006. One of the evening’s headliners will be The National, who happen to be nominated for a record six PLUG Awards this year. As more performers are announced, we will pass the information along to you.

Vote In The 2006 PLUG Independent Music Awards