Richard Ashcroft Gets Political

Former Verve frontman Richard Ashcroft is ready to release his third solo album, titled Keys To The World. It should come as no surprise that some of the material takes a few stabs at our current political climate.

In an interview with NME, Ashcroft said: “There's a track called 'Why Not Nothing' about how the world's turning so conservative and so religious at the same time. I think it's up to the songwriters to give another side to the coin and my music does that. It gives another side, it's not an atheist side but it's someone saying it that doesn't necessarily believe in all that."

The new album will hit stores in the UK on January 23rd. We are still waiting for a North American release date. Until that glorious day finally arrives, you can entertain yourself by watching his brand new video for “Break The Night With Colour”, which you can view at his official website.

Keys To The World
01. “Why Not Nothing?”
02. “Music Is Power”
03. “Break The Night With Colour”
04. “Words Just Get In The Way”
05. “Keys To The World”
06. “Sweet Brother Malcolm”
07. “Cry Til The Morning”
08. “Why Do Lovers?”
09. “Simple Song”
10. “World Keeps Turning”

Richard Ashcroft Gets Political