Sneak Peek At Morrissey's New Album

After reading about the upcoming new album from Morrissey over and over again, the hype led me to believe that this was going to be either his definitive masterpiece or an overblown pile of rubbish. I was given a chance to preview the record yesterday afternoon, and I can say without a doubt that it is one brilliant album.

Produced by the legendary Tony Visconti, known for his work with T Rex and David Bowie, Ringleader Of The Tormentors is the Mozfather’s first “rock” record since 1992’s Your Arsenal. This is an abrasive, direct collection of tunes that definitely ranks among his finest work. One of the standout tracks is the seven-minute long “Life Is A Pigsty”, which is more like a suite with multiple movements rather than just your typical song. Italian film composer Ennio Morricone added some beautiful orchestral moments in “Dear God Please Help Me”.

As a longtime Morrissey fan, my initial impression of Ringleader Of The Tormentors is that this is the first time he has sounded truly comfortable on an album from start to finish since Vauxhall And I. His vocal range has never sounded better and his songwriting is as sharp as ever. From the opening moments of the dense first track, “I Will See You In Far-Off Places”, I could tell that this was going to be one hell of a ride.

The twelve-song album will be available on April 4th via Attack/Sanctuary Records. Many thanks to Drew Murray at Sanctuary for the sneak peek of Ringleader Of The Tormentors. This Moz fan greatly appreciates it!

Ringleader Of The Tormentors
01. “I Will See You In Far-Off Places”
02. “Dear God Please Help Me”
03. “You Have Killed Me”
04. “The Youngest Was The Most Loved”
05. “In The Future When All’s Well”
06. “The Father Who Must Be Killed”
07. “Life Is A Pigsty”
08. “I’ll Never Be Anybody’s Hero Now”
09. “On The Streets I Ran”
10. “To Me You Are A Work Of Art”
11. “I Just Want To See The Boy Happy”
12. “At Last I Am Born”

Sneak Peek At Morrissey's New Album