Bloc Party Presents A Weekend In The City

Who knew that the band that never stops touring North America would have time to work on (and release) their sophomore album sooner than we thought? That's just the case with Bloc Party and their new record, A Weekend In The City, which is set for a street date of February 6, 2007 via VICE Records. It was recorded in Dublin and produced by Jacknife Lee (U2, Snow Patrol).

In a press release the band stated that new record is about "the living noise of a metropolis," influenced them and captures all the events of daily life, no matter how large or small. They also say that topics on the album range from love, paranoia, sadness, tension, going out late and casual sex. The group claims that Phillip Glass, Timbaland, Aaliyah and Bartok influenced their new direction. Since we are most familiar with Bloc Party and their angular Paul Epworth inspired beats, it should be interesting to hear the new sound from the band.

A Weekend In The City:

01. "Song For Clay (Disappear Here)"
02. "Hunting For Witches"
03. "Waiting For the 7:18"
04. "The Prayer"
05. "Uniform"
06. "On"
07. "Where Is Home?"
08. "Kreuzberg"
09. "I Still Remember"
10. "Sunday"
11. "SRXT"

Bloc Party Presents A Weekend In The City