2008 Plug Independent Music Awards Announce Nominees

In the fickle, opinionated world of indie music, the Plug Independent Music Awards allows fans to do more than just post comments on their favorite sites about loving and/or hating the latest flavor of the month. This yearly event puts the best of the best of independent music up against each other, placing them in categories ranging from indie rock album of the year to music video of the year.

Media outlets that cater to this genre are also on the ballot, including specialty radio show of the year, blog of the year, etc. Voting begins now, which runs through February 8. To see the whole ballot, as well as to get your vote on, head over to Plug's official website. The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday, March 6 in NYC.

To give you a taste of who made the cut this year, here are a few of the nominees:

Album Of The Year
† (Downtown/Ed Banger/Vice) - Justice
100 Days, 100 Nights (Daptone) - Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
Boxer (Beggars Banquet) - The National
Cease To Begin (Sub Pop) - Band Of Horses
Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga (Merge) - Spoon
Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer? (Polyvinyl) - Of Montreal
I'll Sleep When You're Dead (Definitive Jux) - El-P
In Rainbows (self-released) - Radiohead
Mirrored (Warp) - Battles
Neon Bible (Merge) - Arcade Fire
Person Pitch (Paw Tracks) - Panda Bear
The Flying Club Cup (Ba Da Bing) - Beirut

Artist Of The Year
Animal Collective
Arcade Fire
Band Of Horses
Of Montreal
Okkervil River
Panda Bear
The National

New Artist Of The Year
Bat For Lashes
Dan Deacon
Los Campesinos!
No Age
Sea Wolf
St. Vincent
Vampire Weekend
White Rabbits

Female Artist Of The Year
Annie Clark (St. Vincent)
Bettye LaVette
Emily Haines
Emma Pollock
Katrina Ford (Celebration)
Marissa Nadler
Marnie Stern
Natasha Khan (Bat For Lashes)
Nina Nastasia
Sally Shapiro
Scout Niblett
Sharon Jones

Male Artist Of The Year
Andrew Bird
Dan Deacon
Devendra Banhart
Jens Lenkman
John Vanderslice
José González
Kevin Barnes (Of Montreal)
Nick Cave
Noah Lennox (Panda Bear)
Sam Beam (Iron & Wine)
Zach Condon (Beirut)

Song Of The Year
"Atlas" - Battles
"Beautiful Life" - Gui Boratto
"Bros" - Panda Bear
"D.A.N.C.E." - Justice
"Fake Empire" - The National
"Four Winds" - Bright Eyes
"Keep The Car Running" - Arcade Fire
"No Pussy Blues" - Grinderman
"Suffer For Fashion" - Of Montreal
"The Underdog" - Spoon
"Wet And Rusting" - Menomena
"You're A Wolf" - Sea Wolf

Plug Awards

2008 Plug Independent Music Awards Announce Nominees