Okkervil River Offers Free EP

The fellas in the Austin-based Okkervil River are currently offering up a nice holiday present to their fans. Available for free from their website is the Golden Opportunities Mixtape, comprised of covers recorded live on tour during 2006 and 2007. The site has been having a few issues due to the increased traffic, but with a little patience you can have this for your very own.

The EP contains some interesting selections, including covers of Randy Newman's "Simon Smith And The Amazing Dancing Bear," John Cale's "Antarctica Starts Here" and Joni Mitchell's "The Blonde In The Bleachers." We're not sure how long this will be available; so get it while you can!

Golden Opportunities Mixtape
01. "April Anne" (John Phillips)
02. "Simon Smith And The Amazing Dancing Bear" (Randy Newman)
03. "I Want To Know" (Charles F. Olsen/Ed Sanders)
04. "Do What You Gotta Do" (Jimmy Webb)
05. "I Came Here to Say I'm Going Away" (Serge Gainsbourg)
06. "The Blonde In The Bleachers" (Joni Mitchell)
07. "Antarctica Starts Here" (John Cale)
08. "Listening To Otis Redding At Home During Christmas" (Will Sheff)
09. "Solo" (Sandy Denny)

Okkervil River

Okkervil River Offers Free EP