The Orb Returns With The Dream

When dance music stepped into the spotlight back in the early '90s, making Norman Cook (aka Fatboy Slim) a rock star, even causing enough of a buzz to catch the eye of movie producers (Human Traffic, Groove, etc), there were a core group of electronic musicians that had been part of this culture way before Hot Topic started carrying raver-ware. One group that helped pave the way for many other artists was The Orb, who released their Kiss EP back in 1989. Their brand of ambient house helped spawn such classics as "Little Fluffy Clouds," a track that still holds up to this very day.

Fast forward nearly two decades and The Orb is still creating music. Alex Paterson, the one constant in The Orb's evolving lineup, ended up as longtime contributor Youth's The Dreaming Cave studio to create The Dream. Paterson and Youth surrounded themselves with a cast of guest musicians for this new album, including System 7's Steve Hillage (who Orb fans will recognize from earlier works), Battersea's Eric Walker aka The Corporal, as well as vocalists Aki Omori, Andy Caine and Juliet Roberts.

The Dream will be released here in the US on June 17.

The Dream
01. "The Dream" (The Future Academy Of Noise, Rhythm And Gardening Mix)
02. "Vuja De"
03. "Something Special"
04. "A Beautiful Day"
05. "DDD" (Dirty Disco Dub)
06. "The Truth Is..."
07. "Phantom Of Ukraine"
08. "Mother Nature"
09. "Lost & Found"
10. "The Forest Of Lyonesse"
11. "Katskills"
12. "High Noon"
13. "Sleeping Tiger & The Gods Unknown"
14. "Codes"
15. "Orbisonia"

The Orb

The Orb Returns With The Dream