Editors, Jarvis, Futureheads On Indie Comp

We love seeing people celebrating independent music. Following on the heels of Record Store Day here in the US, a worldwide campaign called Independents Day will be taking place on the 4th of July weekend. This event will be to help raise money for the independent music community as well as their selected charities.

It will be centered around the release of a compilation titled Independents Day ID08, featuring covers of independently released songs recorded by Editors, Jose Gonzalez, Futureheads and Jarvis Cocker. The album, which will be available online as a paid download and as a double disc CD, goes on sale from July 4 to 7. After the 7th, you'll be out of luck.

We're still waiting on the confirmed tracklisting for the second disc, but we do have CD number one ready to show you. This will definitely be worth the price!

ID08 Disc One
01. Tom Smith (Editors) - "Bonny" (Prefab Sprout)
02. Feeder - "Public Image" (PIL)
03. Maximo Park - "Was There Anything I Could Do?" (Go Betweens)
04. Prodigy - "Ghost Town" (The Specials)
05. The Cribs - "Bastards Of Young" (The Replacements)
06. Jose Gonzalez - "Love Will Tear Us Apart" (Joy Division)
07. Futureheads - "With Every Heartbeat" (Robyn)
08. Jack Penate - "Dub Be Good To Me" (Beats International)
09. Rodrigo y Gabriela - "Orion" (Metallica)
10. British Sea Power - "Tug Boat" (Galaxie 500)
11. The Charlatans - "Murder" (New Order)
12. Infadels - "Steady As She Goes" (The Raconteurs)

Independents Day

Editors, Jarvis, Futureheads On Indie Comp