Goldfrapp Returns To The States

The pure pop delight duo of Alison Goldfrapp and Will Gregory are coming back to North America for a few (and we mean few) shows to endorse their new "Caravan Girl" Digital EP and iTunes Originals Session. The "Caravan Girl" Digital EP came out on Mute this past July 22 and features the "Caravan Girl" album cut of course, but also a live choral version, a live acoustic version of "Monster Love" and an Animal Collective Remix of the song "Little Bird" (we here at the tripwire are definitely stoked on this track). While the iTunes Originals Session came out earlier this month on August 12th and features mostly old tracks (some re-recorded exclusively for this release) and band commentary.

Depending on how you view them, you most likely think Goldfrapp walk a fine line between the uber-cool and over-exposed to create an aura and mystique that intrigues you. Or you think they take themselves a bit too seriously. So while cynics will say these releases are just two excuses to exploit their fans by re-releasing old material in new formats, fans will respond "who gives a f*#^, just tell me where to go and what time!" For those who can relate with the latter, we suggest perusing below.

Goldfrapp Tour Dates

09.12.08 - New York, NY (Radio City Music Hall)

09.14.08 - Toronto, ON (Danforth Music Hall)
09.16.08 - Vancouver, BC (Commodore Ballroom)

09.17.08 - Seattle, WA (Showbox SoDo)

09.20.08 - San Francisco, CA (Treasure Island Festival)

09.21.08 - Los Angeles, CA (Orpheum)

Caravan Girl Digital EP Tracklist

01. Caravan Girl

02. Caravan Girl - Live Choral Version

03. Monster Love - Live Acoustic Version

04. Little Bird - Animal Collective Remix

Caravan Girl Video

iTunes Originals Tracklist

01. iTunes Original

02. "It Was the First Song Will and I Wrote Together"

03. Lovely Head*

04. "It's Quite An Unusual Song"

05. Paper Bag^

06. "It Was Recorded Outdoors"

07. Deer Stop*

08. "We Like the Slow-y's"

09. Black Cherry*

10. "I Never Get Tired of Doing It"

11. Strict Machine^

12. "It's Got a Certain Quality about it"

13. Forever*

14. "It's another one we really like playing live"
15. You Never Know^

16. "I Think I Was Going Out with a Guy at the time"

17. Satin Chic*

18. "Keep telling people it's a Hill Billy Version"

19. Ooh La La^

20. "It was a message to Me Really"

21. Eat Yourself^

22. "Sentiment of the song is this idea of traveling"

23. Road to Somewhere^

24. "I was inspired by a friend of mine who lives in Spain"

25. Little Bird^

* Original album tracks

^ Newly recorded for iTunes Originals session
Quotation mark tracks indicate interview and commentary


Goldfrapp Returns To The States