New Music Thursdays - The Outline

They've actually been around since 2002, but in the grand tradition of "overnight successes," we bring you The Outline, an experimental, amalgam of sound four-piece whose sophomore album, Phantasmagoria, is due out this year.

The Outline is Graham Fink on guitar and lead vocals, Austen Lee on keys, guitar and sax, Max St. John on bass and backing vocals and Mike Trevino on drums. Their debut LP, You Smash It, We'll Build Around It, was released in 2006, and if you believe record reviews, The Outline have been compared to everyone from Bloc Party and The Strokes to Panic at the Disco! (who they've actually supported on tour in the past) and The Postal Service.

We're not entirely sure about all of that, but they definitely have a sound that is coming from many different places at once. At times it is straightforward rock, at times it's thoughtful pop with well-placed riffs, and smart use of rhythm and meter -- like on "Simpleton," which you can listen to below. Definitely check out their MySpace for more. We like "Why We're Better Now" and "Death to Our Enemies."

The Outline - "Simpleton"

New Music Thursdays - The Outline