Clues Announce Details And Release Date Of Self-Titled Debut + Tour

The debut record from Clues, the culmination of a partnership between Alden Penner and Brendan Reed, is finally ready to see the light of day on May 19. The duo have been quietly nurturing this project in Montreal since the demise of their respective bands, Unicorns and Les Angles Morts, and now with the Constellation release ready to go, Clues is ready to share their songs with the rest of the world.

The self-titled record will be made available on CD in a custom gatefold cardstock package printed with metallic and full color inks as well as on 180 gram virgin vinyl (and yes, digital as well). Devoted chroniclers of the Canadian music scene may already be hip to Clues, but now, after building a small cult following on their instrument-packed live shows and their own online music store, the band will hit the road at the end of February for a brief West coast tour hitting the Noise Pop Festival in the middle of the run.

Penner's voice, guitar and unique lyrical vision now guide Clues, with humble authority, originality and intent. Wedded to Reed's own superlative compositional and arranging acumen (and awesome drumming, among other instrumental skills) and abetted by multi-instrumentalists Ben Borden (Les Automates de Maxime de la Rochefoucauld), Lisa Gamble (Gambletron, Evangelista, Hrsta) and Nick Scribner (Chaotic Insurrection Ensemble), the band delivered sporadic and fantastic local performances through 2008. They then entered the Hotel2Tango studio to lay down eleven songs in a feverish session during a Montréal winter deep freeze. The resulting album radiates a very special warmth and urgency, full of secrets, smiles, snarls and sing-a-longs.

Clues track list
01. Haarp
02. Remember Severed Head
03. Approach The Throne
04. In The Dream
05. You Have My Eyes Now
06. Perfect Fit
07. Elope
08. Cave Mouth
09. Crows
10. Ledmonton
11. Lets Get Strong

Clues tour dates
02.26.09 - Los Angeles, CA (Spaceland)
02.27.09 - Visalla, CA (Howle and Sons Pizza and Beer)
02.28.09 - San Francisco, CA (Rickshaw Shop - Noise Pop Festival)
03.01.09 - Eugene, OR (Sam Bonds Garage)
03.02.09 - Portland, CA (Backspace)
03.03.09 - Olympia, WA (The Big Room)
03.04.09 - Seattle, WA (The Vera Project)
03.05.09 - Vancouver, BC (The Bitmore Cabaret)

Clues Announce Details And Release Date Of Self-Titled Debut + Tour