• All genres
    • Electronic
    • R&B
    • Hip-Hop
    • Rock
Now Playing
A$AP Ferg, “Talk It”
Now Playing
Father, “Spoil You Rotten”
Now Playing
Michael Uzowuru Ft. Vic Mensa and Donnie Trumpet, “April 13th”
Now Playing
Mumdance, Logos & Rabit, “Inside The Catacomb”
Now Playing
Michael Christmas Ft. Sir Michael Rocks, “Bootleg Designer”
Now Playing
SZA, “Sobriety”

Tortoise Announces Release Date Of First Record In Five Years

[Tortoise in 1994, Photo by James Warden]

After a five year hiatus we're finally going to get a chance to grace our eardrums with the post-rock sounds of Tortoise once more. That's right, the band has finally announced the release date of their sixth studio album, Beacons of Ancestorship.

The album will be released June 23 on Thrill Jockey, and if the excitement of a new Tortoise isn't enough, the band is also planning on releasing a limited edition series of 5" records (yes, five) with new music. The first song off of Beacons of Ancestorship, "High Class Slim Came Floatin' In", will also be released on the Record Store Day compilation Records Toreism, as well. 

Tortoise will also be making their way down to Chicago this summer to play at the Pitchfork Music Festival in July 17. 

Beacons of Ancestorship track list
01. High Class Slim Came Floatin' In
02. Prepare Your Coffin
03. Northern Something
04. Gigantes
05. Penumbra
06. Yinxianghechengqi
07. The Fall of Seven Diamonds Plus One
08. Minors
09. Monument Six One Thousand
10. de Chelly
11. Charteroak Foundation

Tortoise Announces Release Date Of First Record In Five Years