YACHT Gets High-Tech With Holographic Cover For See Mystery Lights

In 2009, we demand more from our albums. An album needs to do more than play music. It needs to, say, come equipped with a holographic cover to keep us entertained for hours and hours! The lovely Jona and Claire of YACHT have answered our prayers and unveiled the artwork for their forthcoming LP See Mystery Lights.

The album is out in July on DFA Records. The actual artwork will look a little different from what you see here, what with the holographic foil and all, so you can check out this animated online display to get a better idea of what you'll be experiencing come July. You can also gain a little more insight on the use of the triangle shape from YACHT themselves here.

From Jona and Claire of YACHT:
We are ready to release the first images of the upcoming YACHT album, See Mystery Lights. The See Mystery Lights cover and concept was born from the hand of Boyd Elder, of Valentine, Texas.

Boyd Elder is perhaps best-known for his legendary album art for the Eagles, notably Their Greatest Hits 1971-1975, an iconic fragment of the rock history of the mythical American West. YACHT became disciples of Elder in early 2008 while isolated in the far West Texas desert, where the majority of See Mystery Lights was written and recorded.

Elder has not produced an album cover like this for many years, and we are honored to host his psychedelic return to form.

See Mystery Lights is inspired by the "Mystery Lights," an unexplained paranormal and optical phenomenon indigenous to triad sites around the world, including Marfa, Texas. In homage to this, the album art is printed with a holographic foil which renders the art ephemeral, susceptible to tricks of light. It is impossible to get a feeling for the effect without holding the actual album in your hand. We have animated the online display in order to approximate this phenomenon.

See Mystery Lights track listing
01. Ring The Bell
02. The Afterlife
03. I'm In Love With A Ripper
04. It's Boring / You Can Live Anywhere You Want
05. Psychic City (Voodoo City)
06. Summer Song
07. We Have All We've Ever Wanted
08. Don't Fight The Darkness
09. I'm In Love With A Ripper (Party Mix)
10. Psychic City (Version)

YACHT Gets High-Tech With Holographic Cover For See Mystery Lights