Celebrating Joey Ramone's Birthday; Tell Your Story Today, Go To The Party Tomorrow



[Photo by Jenny Lens]

There are few people who helped transform the New York City punk scene more than Joey Ramone. Even if only as an icon of New York in the late 70s, Joey helped define a generation of punks as well as a certain country and bluegrass club. So as we approach what would've been his 58th birthday tomorrow [May 19], it only makes sense that said bluegrass club -- CBGB's -- would be hosting an online chat, featuring family and friends remembering the late Ramones frontman, today.

The official CBGB UK Webstore will be hosting an online chat today. Entitled, Remembering Joey Ramone: An Hour of Stories, Anecdotes and Reflection, it will be moderated by Iran Robbins of Trouser Press and feature Joey's brother Mickey Leigh and longtime friend and manager Dave Frey as the MCs. It will take place at 8pm (GMT); 3pm (East Coast time) and 12pm (West Coast time) and if you have stories or just memories of the iconic punk, you are encouraged to share them. You can sign up for the online chat here.

And if that's not enough for you, Mickey Leigh will be hosting the official Joey Ramone birthday bash tomorrow at the Fillmore at Irving Plaza in NYC. With performances by Fishbone, The Supersuckers and Death, as well as special appearances by the likes of George Tabb, Handsome Dick Manitoba and many more, it's sure to be filled with punk rock parents.


Celebrating Joey Ramone's Birthday; Tell Your Story Today, Go To The Party Tomorrow