Details Revealed On Paul Banks' Julian Plenti LP

Two weeks ago, a very cryptic post on the Matador Records blog told us that Interpol lead singer/guitarist/lyricist Paul Banks will be releasing a solo album as Julian Plenti late this summer called Skyscraper (well, official it's, Julian Plenti Is... Skyscraper). Back then we only had the release date and title, today we have the album artwork and track listing.

The album, set for release on August 4, features contributions from guests including Ratatat's Mike Stroud, Interpol's Sam Fogarino, and Charles Burst of The Occasion. Based on the guests mentioned and from the looks of the cover (above), it would seem to be a personal, NY-centric record. Oh, and that party supply stores apparently have the name of his record on a colorful banner in stock.

Banks has written and performed under the Plenti moniker for several years, and while the album was recorded recently, some of the songs were written more than ten years ago. The album is described as having a “cocky, sexy” feel, with tracks that sound similar to Interpol, as well as some straight-ahead guitar rock songs.

Banks will be playing "select shows" this summer in support of the new album.

Julian Plenti Is...Skyscraper track listing
01. Only If You Run
02. Fun That We Have
03. Skyscraper
04. Games for Days
05. Madrid Song
06. No Chance of Survival
07. Unwind
08. Girl on the Sporting News
09. On the Esplanade
10. Fly as You Might
11. H

Details Revealed On Paul Banks' Julian Plenti LP