Ben Gibbard, Jay Farrar Soundtrack Kerouac Documentary

[caption id="attachment_28353" align="aligncenter" width="585" caption="Photo by John Cohen"][/caption]

Death Cab for Cutie's Ben Gibbard and Son Volt's Jay Farrar have collaborated on a set of original tunes inspired by Jack Kerouac's novel Big Sur, to be featured in an upcoming documentary on the author, titled One Fast Move Or I'm Gone: Kerouac's Big Sur. The two began working on the songs in 2007, using Kerouac's own prose from Big Sur for the songs' lyrics; the documentary and its soundtrack, featuring 12 songs from the musicians' collaboration, will be released on October 20, the 40th anniversary of Kerouac's death. Gibbard and Farrar will also appear in the film, along with Tom Waits, Patti Smith, and Sam Shepard. One Fast Move Or I'm Gone will be released as a stand-alone album, a CD/DVD package, and a "special edition" version with the CD and DVD, along with a 40-page book and a copy of Big Sur.

Tracklisting for the soundtrack is as follows:

1. “California Zephyr”
2. “Low Life Kingdom”
3. “Willamine”
4. “All In One”
5. “Breathe Our Iodine”
6. “These Roads Don’t Move”
7. “Big Sur”
8. “One Fast Move Or I’m Gone”
9. “Final Horrors”
10. “Sea Engines”
11. “The Void”
12. “San Francisco”

Ben Gibbard, Jay Farrar Soundtrack Kerouac Documentary