Midlake Announce New Full-Length Courage of Others

Returning after three years off with its third album, Texas-based foursome Midlake will release The Courage of Others on February 2 via Bella Union. According to the album's press release, The Courage of Others will signal a departure from the band's prior experimentations with 70's-era soft rock and will focus instead on more traditional folk music. Guitarist Eric Pulido says of the album: "We didn't want to make the same album as Van Occupanther, so we carried on moving and creating and pushing for a newer sound and emotion." Prior to the album's release, the band will play a handful of shows in the American South and the UK, and plans to play SXSW and tour the entire country later on next year.

Tracklisting for The Courage of Others:
01 Acts of Man
02 Winter Dies
03 Small Mountain
04 Core of Nature
05 Fortune
06 Rulers, Ruling All Things
07 Children of the Grounds
08 Bring Down
09 The Horn
10 The Courage of Others
11 In the Ground

Tour dates:
01.05.09 Baton Rouge, LA @ Spanish Moon
01.06.09 Tallahassee, FL @ Engine Room
01.07.09 Orlando, FL @ The Social
01.08.09 St. Augustine, FL @ Cafe Eleven
01.09.09 Mt. Pleasant, SC @ Village Tavern
01.10.09 Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle
01.11.09 Memphis, TN @ Hi-Tone
01.12.09 Little Rock, AR @ Rev Room
01.22.09 Newcastle, England @ The Cluny
01.23.09 Leicester, England @ The Musician
01.24.09 Cambridge, England @ Junction2
01.27.09 Norwich, England @ Arts Centre
01.28.09 London, England @ Tabernacle

Midlake Announce New Full-Length Courage of Others