Parental Advisory: Herbie Hancock Imagine Project

Check for updates on what your parent’s favorite musicians are doing in our weekly Parental Advisory post. This week’s soul pioneer still making a stamp on music: Herbie Hancock.

Herbie Hancock is thinking out of the box again for his next album. That essentialy is the reason why he's respected in rap for being a jazz dude, bringing Grandmaster DXT to the Grammy awards in 1983 to perform "Rockit." It's one of those pinnacle memories that is canonized in the annals of hip-hop history. Using his imagination to work with folks outside of the traditional jazz community is what keeps him relevant today. In the video below, witness the making of how he adapts to the sounds of the album's guests like Seal, K'Naan, and John Legend.

Tracklisting for The Imagination Project

1. "Imagine"featuring India Arie, Jeff Beck, Pink & Seal
2. "Don't Give Up" featuring Pink and John Legend
3. "Tempo De Amor" featuring Céu
4. "Space Captain" featuring Susan Tedeschi and Derek Trucks
5. "The Times, They Are A' Changin" featuring The Chieftans and Lisa Hannigan
6. "La Tierra" featuring Juanes
7. "Tamitant Tilay/Exodus" featuring K'Naan, Los Lobos and Tinariwen
8. "Tomorrow Never Knows" featuring Dave Matthews
9. "A Change is Gonna Come" featuring James Morrison
10."The Songs Goes On" featuring Chaka Kahn, Anoushka Shankar and Wayne Shorter


Parental Advisory: Herbie Hancock Imagine Project