Stream: Queen Latifah and Common Present Just Wright Mixtape Volume 3 [I Still Love H.E.R]

What's a movie featuring Common without some hip-hop? Probably not the most entertaining if they don't give him enough screen time. Earning himself a starring role in Just Wright he promoted the flick becoming the half-time show at this year's NBA All-Star game, a nice reminder to Hollywood's suits not to disrespect rap on the big screen like it was a cheap ad for fast food. With that in mind, Common's collab with The Twilite Tone—who mixed Suite903 No. 8—compiles throwback tracks from the '90s for the third installment for his Just Wright mixtape series. It's 23 classic cuts of Dilla productions, and love-inspired cuts from the native tongue era. Click below for the tracklist and streaming link.

1. Ex Girl To Next Girl / Gang Starr
2. Passin’ Me By [Fly As Pie Remix] / The Pharcyde
3. Baby What’s Your Name? / Grand Puba
4. Behind The Bush / Jungle Brothers
5. Bonita Applebum [LP Version] / A Tribe Called Quest
6. Camay feat. Raekwon & Cappadonna / Ghostface
7. Tell Me / Slum Vilage Feat. D’angelo
8. Far To Go / J Dilla & Common
9. Starz / Jaylib
10. You Know What Fall In Love Is [Blend] / The Twilite Tone Meets Slum Village
11. Come Close Remix [Closer] Feat Erykah Badu, Q-Tip, & Pharrell / Common
12. Next Time / Common & Queen Latifah
13. Find A Way / A Tribe Called Quest
14. The Light [Remix] / Common
15. Shakiyla [JRH] / Poor Righteous Teachers
16. Trust Me / Guru & N’dea Davenport
17. Love Me Or Leave Alone[Remix] / Brand Nubian
18. Electric Relaxation / A Tribe Called Quest
19. Star 69 [PS With Love] / Common
20. The Sweetest Thing [Remix] / The Fugees
21. What’s On Your Mind / Eric B. & Rakim
22. Somebody For Me / Heavy D & The Boyz
23. Eye Know / De La Soul

Stream the Just Wright Mixtape Volume 3 here.


Twilite Tone and Common go back further than their new mixtape together. The legacy of The Twilite Tone began with a circulation of mixtapes around the Southside of Chicago during the late '80s, his ingenious and soulful blending of hip hop classics officially put Tone on the musical circuit, although he gained much notice in 1989, when Tone was one half of the duo 1213, a rap group in which he was the producer, DJ and co-vocalist, was selected as best unsigned group at the New Music Seminar in New York. Tone's unexpected soulful production skills were selected yet again as best unsigned artist with the act Common Sense, now known as Common. A critical breakout for Chicago’s legendary DJ and producer, The Twilite Tone aka Ynot/Anthony Khan spawned as Tone moved forward to produce and guest appear on Common’s first three albums, gaining much acclaim for the most surprising tracks on each LP. “Take It EZ”, Common's debut single produced by 2pc DRK, a production team consisting of The Twilite Tone and Immenslope (NoID) in 1992, reached #5 on Billboard's Hot Rap Singles Chart. “Chapter 13 (Richman vs. Poorman)”, a track featuring Ynot that was also considered as a single for Resurrection, Common's second LP released in 1994. “Reminding Me (Of Sef)”, the first single from Common's third album, One Day It'll All Make Sense in 1997 reached #9 on Billboard's Hot Rap Singles Chart. A blend of the soulful, unexpected, and syncopated rhythms of The Twilite Tone in conjunction with the clever lyrical metaphors of Common have continuously proven to ignite microphones throughout the last decade. The Twilite Tone and Common lastly combined talents on the Electric Circus Tour touted as one of the best live shows of 2003, in which Tone acted as DJ and host.

Stream: Queen Latifah and Common Present Just Wright Mixtape Volume 3 [I Still Love H.E.R]