Stream Two New Cover Songs by Iceage

Copenhagen punk band Iceage release two new, but weathered, cover songs.


Copenhagen's Iceage were a quartet of teenage punks when they first started back in 2008, but man are they not 17 anymore. February's full-length, You're Nothing, found them veering aggressively and beautifully into post-punk territory, and on the two new cover songs they've readied for a special November 7-inch, it's nice to hear them give their own Rimbaud-like lyrics a rest and work on weathering someone else's songs. On their version of Bahumutsi Drama Group's "To The Comrades," vocalist Elias Bender Rønnenfelt sings like a somehow older and more grizzled Joe Strummer, and there's even a twang of nostalgic rockabilly here, or at least a hint of The Misfits. And their cover of one of Sinead O'Connor's most dramatic songs, "Jackie," finds them carving out the original like a pumpkin until its hollowed and purposefully creepy. The 7-inch will be out November 19th, plus they're re-releasing You're Nothing as a digital deluxe version with an extra b-side soon. Check out tour dates below.

ICEAGE TOUR DATES:
Thu. Oct. 3 - Budapest, HU @ Durer Kert
Fri. Oct. 4 - Vienna, AT @ Waves Vienna
Sat. Oct. 5 - Prague, CZ @ Pilot Club
Sun. Oct. 6 - Berlin, DE @ West Germany
Tue. Oct. 8 - Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst Atrium w/ the Videos
Wed. Oct. 9 - San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop w/ the Videos
Thu. Oct. 10 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo w/ The Men (Culture Collide Festival)
Sun. Oct. 13 - Mexico City, MX @ Corona Capital Music Festival
Tue. Oct. 15 - Brooklyn, NY @ The Acheron w/ Believer, Law
Wed. Oct. 16 - Brooklyn, NY @ The Acheron w/ Survival
Thu. Oct. 31 - Paris, FR @ Pitchfork Music Festival
Fri. Nov. 1 - Toulouse, FR @ Dynamo
Sat. Nov. 2 - Oviedo, ESP @ Whippoorwill
Sun. Nov. 3 - Madrid, ESP @ Charada
Mon. Nov. 4 - Barcelona ESP @ Apolo 2
Tue. Nov. 5 - Milan, IT @ Rocket
Wed. Nov. 6 - Bologna, IT @ Locomotiv
Fri. Nov. 8 - Den Haag, NL @ Rewire Festival
Sat. Nov. 9 - London, UK @ Old Blue Last
Fri. Nov. 22 - Moscow, RUS @ Manifest
Sat. Nov. 23 - St Petersburg, RUS @ Chetvert

Stream Two New Cover Songs by Iceage