Defected Are Releasing A Frankie Knuckles Retrospective Compilation

Defected will release a posthumous compilation compiled by Frankie Knuckles.

April 02, 2015

It's been almost exactly one year since the tragic passing of genre-defining house music legend Frankie Knuckles - but his influence lives on. Influential UK house label Defected Records has announced House Masters Frankie Knuckles, a charity release with 100% of the proceeds going directly towards The Frankie Knuckles Fund/Elton John AIDS Foundation. The retrospective compilation, with originals and remixes hand-selected by The Godfather of House himself, is finally seeing the light of day over a year after its inception. The compilation will be available April 26 on Defected Records. You can check the career-spanning tracklist below, and a half-hour interview with Frankie above.


01. Frankie Knuckles featuring Jamie Principle: "Your Love"
02. Frankie Knuckles presents Satoshi Tomiie: "Tears (Classic Vocal)"
03. Frankie Knuckles: "The Whistle Song (Sound Factory Mix)"
04. Alison Limerick: "Where Love Lives (Classic Mix)"
05. Hercules & Love Affair: "Blind (Frankie Knuckles Remix)"
06. Frankie Knuckles featuring Roberta Gilliam: "Workout (1992 Vocal Mix)"
07. Frankie Knuckles with Jamie Principle: "Baby Wants To Ride"
08. Andrea Mendez: "Bring Me Love (Classic Frankie)"
09. Frankie Knuckles: "Only The Strong Survive (Club Mix)"
10. Frankie Knuckles: "It's Hard Sometime (FK Classic Club)"
11. Adeva: 'Beautiful Love (Extended)"

CD 2:

01. Inner City: "Whatcha Gonna Do With My Lovin (Def Mix)"
02. Sounds Of Blackness: "The Pressure (Frankie Knuckles Classic Mix)"
03. The Nightwriters: "Let the Music Use You (Club Mix)"
04. First Choice: "Let No Man Put Asunder (12" Frankie Knuckles Remix)"
05. Frankie Knuckles: "Rain Falls (FK Original)"
06. Rufus & Chaka Khan: "Ain't Nobody (Hallucinogenic Version)"
07. Loose Ends: "Hangin' On A String (Frankie Knuckles Club Mix)"
08. Frankie Knuckles featuring Adeva: "Too Many Fish (Classic Frankie Version)"
09. Lisa Stansfield: "Change (Knuckles Mix)"
10. Pet Shop Boys: "Left To My Own Devices (Frankie Knuckles Royal Piano Version)"
11. Frankie Knuckles presents Director's Cut featuring Jamie Principle: "I'll Take You There (Director's Cut Classic Signature Mix)"

Lead image: Getty Images

Defected Are Releasing A Frankie Knuckles Retrospective Compilation