Elohim’s “Hallucinating” Is An Exultant Pop Song

The L.A. singer shares a jazzy track about conflating dreams and reality.

Elohim’s “Hallucinating” Is An Exultant Pop Song Chase O'Black

Last year, The FADER debuted L.A. singer Elohim's lush, very first single "She Talks Too Much," off her self-titled, B3SCI-released EP.

ADVERTISEMENT

Today, she's got a new one: "Hallucinating," which is more of a pop song in the classic sense than the lower key electro-pop tracks on May's EP. Chock full of jazzy experimentation, "Hallucinating" has a celebratory vibe, filled with exultant percussion, violins, trumpets, and Charli XCX-style cheers. "Hallucinating" is like an ode to an altered state of mind. Over email, Elohim told The FADER she "often find[s] it difficult to decipher dream state from reality. My brain fully sober is reminiscent of the experiences people have told me about hallucinations." Listen below.

Elohim Tour Dates

Wed, Sept 7 // Vancouver, BC @ Rio Theatre
Fri, Sept 9 // Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
Sun, Sept 11 // Portland, OR @ Hawthorne Theater
Wed, Sept 14 // San Francisco, CA @ Slim's
Fri, Sept 16 // Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey
Tues, Sept 20 // Phoenix, AZ @ Pub Rock
Thurs, Sept 22 // Austin, TX @ The Parish
Fri, Sept 23 // Dallas, TX @ House of Blues (Cambridge Room)
Sun, Sept 25 // Houston, TX @ House of Blues (Bronze Peacock)
Tues, Sept 27 // St. Louis, MO @ Firebird
Thurs, Sept 29 // Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Sat, Oct 1 // Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Tues, Oct 4 // Toronto, ON @ The Mod Club Theatre
Wed, Oct 5 // Montreal, QC @ La Sala Rossa
Fri, Oct 7 // NYC @ Webster Hall
Mon, Oct 10 // Philadelphia, PA @ The Foundry at the Fillmore
Tues, Oct 11 // Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Thurs, Oct 13 // Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Fri, Oct 14 // Charlotte, NC @ Visulite Theatre
Sat, Oct 15 // Atlanta, GA @ Vinyl
Mon, Oct 17 // Jacksonville, FL @ Jack Rabbits Live
Thurs, Oct 20 // Orlando, FL @ The Social
Fri, Oct 21 // Tampa, FL @ The Orpheum
Sat, Oct 22 // Fort Lauderdale, FL @ Culture Room

September 07, 2016
Elohim’s “Hallucinating” Is An Exultant Pop Song