The xx Announces New Album I See You

Hear new song “On Hold” ahead of the January 2017 release.

November 10, 2016

The xx will release new album I See You on January 13 2017. The band's third album, the follow up to 2012's Coexist, is preceded by lead single "On Hold," which you can hear above. The song features a sample of Hall & Oates's 1981 single “I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do).”


In a message posted on Facebook, the band announced the album with a message that reads, "We realize these are uncertain times and we hope the joy and love we found making the record will find its way out into the world, in however small a way. "

I See You was recorded between March 2014 and August 2016 in New York, Marfa Texas, Reykjavik, Los Angeles, and London. That's the album artwork at the bottom of the page.


The group teased the album announcement with a series of short musical interludes, released via their In The Studio Spotify playlist. The band will also appear on Annie Mac's BBC Radio 1 show today, November 10, to chat and perform live.

The xx – I See You tracklist:

1. 2Dangerous"
2. "Say Something Loving"
3. "Lips"
4. "2A Violent Noise"
5. "Performance"
6. "2Replica"
7. "Brave For You"
8. "On Hold"
9. "I Dare You"
10. "Test Me"


Thumbnail image via Laura Coulson.

The xx Announces New Album <I>I See You</i>
The xx Announces New Album I See You