Watch “Sick Bug,” A New Video By Melbourne Boys Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever

Featuring bare feet, sun-soaked tennis courts, and a mottled pit bull.

April 27, 2017
Watch “Sick Bug,” A New Video By Melbourne Boys Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever   Photo by Rubin Utama

“Lighthearted post-punk” feels like it should be a paradox, but Melbourne boys Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever prove that it works. The band released The French Press EP early last month and have a really promising 2017 stretching out ahead of them. For example, tomorrow they’re kicking off the Australian leg of their tour, and today, The FADER is premiering the music video for French Press single, “Sick Bug.”

ADVERTISEMENT

Directed by Marie Pangaud, the video for “Sick Bug” is three minutes of grainy, home video-style footage. It finds the band lazily hanging out on the tennis court, playing around: with their guitars, and a mottled pit bull. Easy-going, barefoot, and saturated in a sunny sheen, the five of them have a certain goddamn endearing thing going on. It appeals to all my boy band sensibilities.

"I was reading Richard Flanagan's The Narrow Road To The Deep North and the horror of their situation stayed with me for a long time," songwriter Joe White told FADER in an email. "I wrote ['Sick Bug'] about how desperately someone could want the simplest of things. The triviality of us dancing around on a tennis court is fully realized." Hit play below.

Tour dates

Australia:

Fri 28 April – Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane
Sat 29 April – The Great Northern, Byron Bay
Sun 30 April – Shark Bar, Gold Coast
Thu 11 May – The Tote, Melbourne
Fri 12 May – The Tote, Melbourne (sold out)
Fri 2 June – Karova Lounge, Ballarat
Sat 3 June – The Bridge Hotel, Castlemaine

Europe:

Sat 2 Sept – Strange Waves, Manchester
Sun 3 Sept - End Of the Road Festival, Dorset
Mon 4 Sept - Lexington, London (sold out)
Tue 5 Sept - Old Blue Last, London (sold out)
Wed 6 Sept - Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
Fri 8 Sept - Molotow, Hamburg
Sat 9 Sept - Paradiso Noord, Amsterdam
Tue 12 Sept – Moth Club, London

Watch “Sick Bug,” A New Video By Melbourne Boys Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever