Polaris Music Prize Announces 2017 Short List

The winner will be announced on September 18.

July 13, 2017

The Polaris Music Prize has revealed the short list for its 2017 event. The ten albums were selected by a jury from a long list of 40 Canadian records. The winner will be announced on September 18 at a gala in Toronto, and will receive a grand prize of $50,000. Each finalist walks away with $3,000.


The finalists for the Polaris Music Prize are chosen from albums by Canadian artists released between between June 1, 2016, and May 31, 2017. The selections are made "without regard to musical genre or commercial popularity," according to the Prize's mission statement.

Check out the finalists below:

The 2017 Polaris Music Prize short list

A Tribe Called Red, We Are The Halluci Nation
Leonard Cohen, You Want It Darker
Gord Downie, Secret Path
Feist, Pleasure
Lisa LeBlanc, Why You Wanna Leave, Runaway Queen?
Lido Pimienta, La Papessa
Tanya Tagaq, Retribution
Leif Vollebekk, Twin Solitude
Weaves, Weaves