CHAI go back to high school in new video for “CHOOSE GO!”

The Japanese four piece have announced their sophomore record PUNK.

February 07, 2019

As CHAI, Mana, Kana, Yuuki and Yuna emboss their potent [] with irresistible energy. The Japanese four-piece recently announced their sophomore album PUNK, the followup to 2017's PINK. Now, they're offering a video for new single "CHOOSE GO!" which finds the girls slickly defying a range of high school tropes.

ADVERTISEMENT

In a press release, CHAI further elaborated their vision for the Team Mikansei-directed clip. “Cheerleaders, who are usually known for cheering for athletes on the sideline, now become the actual athletes and are shown as baseball players! It’s the evolution of what is already in existence like sports or cheerleaders to then what would be considered non-existent or fantasy like cheerleaders turned into baseball players and barbies tossed instead of footballs by football players, which makes this music video so cool! CHOOSE GO! CHOOSE FREEDOM!”

PUNK is due out March 15 via Burger Records. Peep CHAI's forthcoming North American tour dates below.

CHAI North American tour dates:
Wed. Mar. 13 - Sat.. Mar. 16 - Austin, TX @ SXSW
Mon. Mar. 18 - Washington, DC @ Union Stage
Tue. Mar. 19 - Brooklyn, NY @ Market Hotel
Wed. Mar. 20 - Toronto, ON @ The Velvet Underground
Fri. Mar. 22 - Sat. Mar. 23 - Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Festival
Mon. Mar. 25 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Moroccan Lounge
Wed. Mar. 27 - San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Fri. Mar. 29 - Seattle, WA @ The Vera Project
Sat. Mar. 30 - Portland, OR @ Holocene

CHAI go back to high school in new video for “CHOOSE GO!”