Arlo Parks announces second album My Soft Machine

Listen to new song “Weightless” ahead of the U.K. artist’s upcoming project.

January 18, 2023

Arlo Parks has confirmed details of the follow-up to her 2021 debut Collapsed In Sunbeams. Her second album, titled My Soft Machine, will be released on May 26 via Transgressive Records. A new song from the album, “Weightless,” is streaming below.


In a statement shared alongside the new song, Parks says: “’Weightless’ surrounds the painful experience of caring deeply about someone who only gives you tiny breadcrumbs of affection. It’s about suddenly realising that a person has dulled your edges and embarking on the slow journey back to being a brighter version of yourself.”

My Soft Machine, named after a quote in Tilda Swinton movie The Souvenir, includes a guest appearance by Phoebe Bridgers on “Pegasus.” It arrives two years after Parks’ debut album, which won the 2021 Mercury Prize and led to Parks picking up two Grammy nominations for Best New Artist and Best Alternative Music Album.


In addition to the new album, Parks has also confirmed a raft of European dates for September. See below for details.

My Soft Machine tracklist:

1. “Bruiseless”
2. “Impurities”
3. “Devotion”
4. “Blades”
5. “Purple Phase”
6. “Weightless”
7. “Pegasus” feat. Phoebe Bridgers
8. “Dog Rose”
9. “Puppy”
10. “I’m Sorry”
11. “Room (red wings)”
12. “Ghost”

Arlo Parks European tour dates:

September 13 - Dublin, Ireland - 3Olympia Theatre
September 14 - Amsterdam, Netherlands - Paradiso
September 15 - Brussels, Belgium - Ancienne Belgique
September 17 - Berlin, Germany - Huxleys Neue Welt
September 19 - Milan, Italy - Alcatraz
September 21 - Paris, France - L'Olympia
September 28 - London, UK - Eventim Apollo

Arlo Parks announces second album My Soft Machine