Yaya Bey announces Exodus the North Star EP

Listen to a new song now.

February 07, 2023
Yaya Bey announces <i>Exodus the North Star</i> EP Geoffrey Baptiste

Yaya Bey will release new EP Exodus the North Star on March 24 via Big Dada. A preview of the EP, which follows the Brooklyn-based artist's 2022 album Remember Your North Star, can be heard with title track. Stream that below.


"Exodus the North Star is my most vulnerable work to date," Bey says in a statement. "This is how I see joy and love in the world and what I aspire to feel and be. I have become an expert at turning my pain and grief as a black woman into music. Black people have a masterful way of telling our stories and sharing pain, but we're also masters of joy and imagination. We have always been in a global conversation about how to alchemize our experiences and reimagine our circumstances. From the ties between lovers rock and R&B to gospel and house. Our joy is a collective effort.

I rarely write about what I would like my existence to be in this world. This is a new level of vulnerability for me. Proclaiming my desires. What I’ve come to learn I deserve. This is my thank you to my people: my peers, the elders and the ancestors for being in this work with me."


Exodus the North Star features contributions from Jay Daniel, Exaktly, and Nativesun and includes a track recorded at London's Abbey Road studios.

Exodus the North Star tracklist:

1. "exodus the north star"
2. "on the pisces moon"
3. "when saturn returns"
4. "munerah"
5. "12 houses down"
6. "ascendent (mother fxcker)" (feat. Exaktly)

Yaya Bey announces Exodus the North Star EP