Dolly Parton’s rock album features just about everybody

The 30-track album mixes classic covers and original songs with appearances from Paul McCartney, Lizzo, Peter Frampton, Debbie Harry, Ringo Starr, and dozens more.

May 09, 2023
Dolly Parton’s rock album features just about everybody

In March 2022, Dolly Parton turned down a placement on the voting ballot that would decide that year’s Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees. In a subsequent statement, the legendary country musician said that she did not consider her career worthy of the honor. Parton’s name was kept on the ballot anyway, and she was inducted that year in the Performer category. In a statement shared when she initially declined, Parton wrote, “This has, however, inspired me to put out a hopefully great rock’n’roll album at some point in the future, which I have always wanted to do!”


As it turns out, Parton was totally serious. Rockstar, her first rock album, is due out on November 19. It’s 30 tracks long and packed with a list of features that include some of the biggest and most well-respected names in rock music history, such as Paul McCartney, Stevie Nicks, John Fogerty, Elton John, Mick Fleetwood, Peter Frampton, and John Jett. There are some contemporary artists too, including Lizzo on a cover of “Stairway to Heaven,” Christ Stapleton, Brandi Carlile, and Parton’s goddaughter Miley Cyrus.


In a statement, Parton wrote, “I am very honored and privileged to have worked with some of the greatest iconic singers and musicians of all time and to be able to sing all the iconic songs throughout the album was a joy beyond measure. I hope everybody enjoys the album as much as I’ve enjoyed putting it together!”

See the full Rockstar tracklist below.

Rockstar tracklist

1. Rockstar with special guest Richie Sambora
2. World On Fire
3. Every Breath You Take feat. Sting
4. Open Arms feat. Steve Perry
5. Magic Man feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Lee
6. Long As I Can See The Light feat. John Fogerty
7. Either Or feat. Kid Rock
8. I Want You Back feat. Steven Tyler & special guest Warren Haynes
9. What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You feat. Stevie Nicks & special guest Waddy Wachtel
10. Purple Rain
11. Baby, I Love Your Way feat. Peter Frampton
12. I Hate Myself For Loving You feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts
13. Night Moves feat. Chris Stapleton
14. Wrecking Ball feat. Miley Cyrus
15. I Can’t Get No Satisfaction feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile
16. Keep On Loving You feat. Kevin Cronin
17. Heart Of Glass feat. Debbie Harry
18. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me feat. Elton John
19. Tried To Rock And Roll Me feat. Melissa Etheridge
20. Stairway To Heaven feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute
21. We Are The Champions
22. Bygones feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5
23. My Blue Tears feat. Simon Le Bon
24. What’s Up? feat. Linda Perry
25. You’re No Good feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow
26. Heartbreaker feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo
27. Bittersweet feat. Michael McDonald
28. I Dreamed About Elvis feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires
29. Let It Be feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood
30. Free Bird feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band

Dolly Parton’s rock album features just about everybody