Scammers are posing as FADER staffers on Instagram and DistroKid. Read more here.

Premiere: Tensnake’s Defected Promo Mix MP3

November 22, 2010

When house music isn't weird, when it's all perfect shakers and perfect whistle sounds and perfect bass, you'll like it. But it's too overwhelming to dare obsessing about and sometimes you forget it exists. Disco is beautiful, but it's also really big. It's a lot easier to be a superficial fan than to be smart about it. So listening to an expert French house or deep house or disco-whatever DJ is doubly impressive: the music is naturally awe-worthy, but there's something almost professorial about it too. The second, cerebral side of all great mixes, digging through the tracklist/appendix. We love Moodymann and the 6th Borough Project (who are featured on this mix) and that's nothing new, but we don't have an eighth of the brilliance Tensnake would have to say about them or any of the 13 artists on his new mix for Defected Records. We're happy simply deferring to the master. Here's hoping y'all east-coasters caught Tensnake before he heads westward this week with shows November 23rd at U Hall in Washington DC and November 24th at Smart Bar, Chicago, IL (with Frankie Knuckles). Track list after the jump.

Download: Tensnake's Defected Promo Mix

01 Ilija Rudman ‘What Am I Gonna Do’ (Dub Mix)
02 6th Borough Project ‘Do It To The Max’
03 Mim Suleiman ‘Nyuli’
04 Jamie Jones ‘Ruckus Discoid Dub’
05 Erdbeerschnitzel ‘Tonight Is Today Is Tomorrow’ (Arto Mwambe Remix)
06 Lovebirds ‘Love & Happiness’
07 Jacques Renault ‘Miranda’
08 Jacuzzi Boys & Bastian Schuster ‘Lady Lover’
09 Moodymann ‘Shades Of Jae’
10 Guy Gerber ‘Lost In You Like A Chinese Cookie’
11 Jamie Loyd ‘May I?’ (Quarion Remix)
12 Aloe Blacc ‘I Need A Dollar’ (Tensnake Remix)
13 Lee Foss ‘Run Around’

Premiere: Tensnake’s Defected Promo Mix MP3