Major Lazer Announce New Album


Major Lazer has announced that Free the Universe, the follow-up to 2009′s Guns Don’t Kill People… Lazers Do, will be released on November 9th. Vampire Weekend’s Ezra Koenig, Shaggy, Wyclef Jean, Tyga and Flux Pavilion will appear on the album, along with Dirty Projectors’ Amber Coffman, featured on the already-unveiled track “Get Free.” While Guns Don’t Kill People was a joint production of Diplo and Switch, Diplo is cited as the new album’s sole executive producer. With Diplo as ringleader, now Major Lazer will operate as an umbrella for a rotating cast of producers. For example, for Reincarnated, the reggae album Snoop Dogg will release under the name Snoop Lion, Diplo worked under the Major Lazer name with Ariel Rechtshaid and Dre Skull. Major Lazer will tour Europe and the US this fall; see a full schedule of dates and watch Switch and Diplo perform “Pon De Floor” at 2009′s FADER FORT below.

Major Lazer Tour:
08-15 Otranto, Italy – Parco Torcito
08-16 Calvia, Spain – Mallorca Rocks Hotel
08-17 Ibiza, Spain – Ibiza Rocks Hotel
08-18 Hasselt, Belgium – Pukkelpop Festival
08-22 Copenhagen, Denmark – VEGA
08-23 Aarhus, Denmark – Train
08-24 Stockholm, Sweden – Popaganda Festival
08-25 Daresbury, England – Creamfields Festival
08-27 London, England – Notting Hill Carnival
09-07 Berlin, Germany – Berlin Festival
09-08 Isle of Wight, England – Big Top
10-18 Santa Ana, CA – The Observatory
10-19 Oakland, CA – Fox Theatre
10-20 San Diego, CA – House of Blues
10-25 Washington, DC – 9:30 Club
10-26 Boston, MA – House of Blues
10-27 New York, NY – Terminal 5

POSTED August 1, 2012 11:30AM IN MUSIC NEWS Comments (1) TAGS: , , , ,